Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Perth, Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wideview / service pack 1 and 2 performance issue

    Hi All
    I have experienced a really weird issue on my setup. Currently I am setting up 3 graphics stations and 6 pc's for magenta, plus a server.
    Today I finished installing everything on the visual clients which have FSX deluxe and a Wideview each. After everything was tested on max settings I was very pleased as everything run smoothly and in sync. I then decided to continue and install Service packs one and two for FSX Deluxe, and thats when the visual clients started to stutter like **** :/ What is strange is that the clients do not stutter when run on their own, without following the server.
    Really puzzled here as I was sure that SP1 and 2 were supposed to improve performance and fix cloud sync over Wideview..

    Any Suggestions fellow experts ??
    Any input would be greatly appreciated

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Wideview / service pack 1 and 2 performance issue

    Hi Dawid,
    Not sure exactly why things have gone bellyup. But the correct process when doing installs is to do the main install
    followed by the Updates. With FSX updates its recommended to do install of FSX, reboot then do SP2 and reboot.
    I think only SP2 needs to be done as it also covers what was done in SP1.
    You might find that the latest Wideview might have been undone by SP2 as this is very old now.
    May i suggest you uninstall Wideview and reinstall again. There are some very good Gurus on Wideviews Forum
    who may be able to help if you still have problems.
    Les

  3. Thanks Dawid Szczeblewski thanked for this post
  4. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Perth, Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: WideFS / service pack 1 and 2 performance issue

    Thanks for a reply Iwik.
    I've done it like you said, clean windows install, then updates, and then FSX.
    SP2 did not want to install without SP1 first. Although I didnt reboot between SP1 and SP2 instalation. I will try that and Wideview forum.
    On one client I installed the SP1 and 2 first and then Wideview
    On another client I tried Wideview first followed by the service packs, that didn't help
    One strange thing I noticed in Wideview, I am only getting 6 to 15 successfully received packets per second, where as far as I know the value should be close to my FPS which is set to 30 on Clients and server. This however didn't cause any problems before I installed service packs. I tied with V-sync on and off.
    I would really like to keep service packs as REX wont install without them and the clouds wont sync properly.

  5. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: WideFS / service pack 1 and 2 performance issue

    Sorry i can't be more help. I think packets at 6 to 15 does seem a little on the light side.
    Post in Wideview's forum and im sure you will get sorted.
    I run Wideview with just front view on 1 client and it runs smoothly.

  6. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Perth, Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: WideFS / service pack 1 and 2 performance issue

    I take it you have both service packs installed Iwik?

  7. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: WideFS / service pack 1 and 2 performance issue

    Have installed Acceleration which includes SP2

  8. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Perth, Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: WideFS / service pack 1 and 2 performance issue

    Iwik,
    I think you have hit the nail on the head...
    I reinstalled FSX and then service packs, making sure that I restart and run the FSX between the installs.
    The stutters are still there but are not very noticeable and the improvement is significant. I guess now I just have to play with update rates and intelismooth
    Thanks!
    Soon it will be time for overclocking and REX followed by scenery installs YAY!

  9. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: WideFS / service pack 1 and 2 performance issue

    David,,
    thats good news, try it out as a basic install fully first to make sure things arnt just a momentary thing before adding anything.
    The same goes for each addon. Been fooled many times by being to hasty.
    FYI i just added another pc to my setup for testing something and with default install it runs smoothly and is only an old
    1.8ghz AMD core from 4 years ago.
    Les