Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Driving the Servo card from software other than FSX

    Hi Guys,
    Is there any information out there to drive the USB Servo card from 3rd party software.
    The developer of the software asked if there was an API for it.
    The software is Ian's Force feedback yoke and i would like to be able to have then OC
    servo card indicate Trim. He does not use the Trim thru FSX. So the servo card needs to be able
    to be fed with his data.
    Hope i havent confused anyone.
    Hoping its possible or else i will have to make it mechanical.
    Thanks
    Les

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Driving the Servo card from software other than FSX

    I'm not sure if it is possible to control the servo card directly but an alternative might be for the third party software to write to an unused FSUIPC offset (the FSUIPC SDK has some examples of how to do this with various programming languages) and then use SIOC to read the offset and control the servo.

    Paul

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    83
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Driving the Servo card from software other than FSX

    Hi Les,

    Paul's suggestion sounds like a good one - I can have a look at writing the CL trim values to a custom FSUIPC offset and then let you try and pick it up from there... I could write in the same format as Pete Dowson used for the main trim indications.

    I'll need to look see what offsets are available...

    Ian

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Driving the Servo card from software other than FSX

    Hi Ian,

    Offsets in the range 66C0 - 66FF are designated as user offsets available for general use. If your software is a one-off application then using one of these would probably be appropriate. If the software is to be released to a wider audience then it might be better to avoid these as it could cause conflicts if any of your users happend to be using the same offset - in this case the best option might be to contact Peter Dawson (developer of FSUIPC) to request a custom offset for your application.

    Paul

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Driving the Servo card from software other than FSX

    Hi Paul,
    Many thanks for your suggestion and it looks like Ian has picked it up which is looking good for me.

    Ian,
    Thanks also for looking at this thread, it was along shot and Paul came to my rescue.
    Dont rush it as you probably have many more important things to do.

    Seasons Greeting to you all

    Les

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    83
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Driving the Servo card from software other than FSX

    Hi Les, Paul,

    Thanks again for the input. I should be able to configure things so that the custom offsets are user-specified, with a default in the range you indicated. Then if something does appear to clash it can be easily fixed.

    I'll look at this when I get a free moment Les and let you know how it goes.

    Ian

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Driving the Servo card from software other than FSX

    Thanks Ian,
    Dont bust a gut.
    Les