Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Rotary Encoder

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rotary Encoder

    Hi, im new to the forum and planning on building a gauges panel similar to this:
    C172 Slim - Painel simulador de voo - Macbare Cockpits

    I plan on using Leo Bodnars BU0836X 12-Bit Joystick Board and his rotary encoders for the OBS, heading bug knob etc.

    I am looking for advice if this is a good option for the job? and are there any better alternatives?

    Thanks Dan

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary Encoder

    Dan,

    Leo's card is a good basic unit. Using it for moving compass cards is not ideal. It does not have an easy way to accelerate the inputs so that you can turn fast to get faster response.

    One detent in your encoder =1 degree change in your indicator. Most encoders are less than 20 detents per revolution. It takes a lot of turning to do a major heading change.

    This can be overcome with some programming skills, but it isn't as plug and play as it seems.

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary Encoder

    Hi thanks for getting back to me, that was a worry of mine when looking at these, is there an alternative solution for this type of thing? Thanks, dan.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary Encoder

    I have heard that the opencockpits cards and encoders can be right for the job but most of the technical info goes over my head

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary Encoder

    There is no ready made solution that is great that I know of. Opencockpits require programming in sioc. I am not a sioc user, so I can't help, although there seems to be a great deal of support on their site.

    Arduino is another option and a search of the forum here has a pretty extensive thread on rotaries. Not sure which is best for you.

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  6. #6
    VMD


    Louie Mendez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Oaktown, California
    Posts
    212
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary Encoder

    Just in case you ever consider OC's card, check this out.

    Var 1 Link IOCARD_ENCODER Input 40 Aceleration 2 Type 2


    Input 40 is the first logical input, the second input is assumed to be input 41. With aceleration you can specify if you want to increase with higher delta's if you turn faster.

    I found it here How to program in SIOC, many basic examples

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary Encoder

    Thanks very much for that, I am going to consider it, and do some reading, now I know it can be done, next is how I appreciate the help, thanks dan

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pijnacker, Netherlands
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary Encoder

    Hello Dan,

    I would advice to start using Open Cockpits hardware and SIOC.
    The script is really not that hard to understand and there are indeed a lot of examples on the internet, where much becomes clear.

    It has some higher startup costs ofcourse, compared with Leo Bodnars hardware, but your future possibilities are much wider and much more flexible.

    I am not an expert on SIOC, but if you would ever start with it, I can help you start with it if you like.

    There is a limit to my programming knowledge, but I am sure there are more people that would be willing to help you with it.

    By the way, my GA-instrument consists of an old LCD monitor with a piece of plexiglass as a mask before it.
    Attachment 7284On the backside of the plexiglass are 0,5 cm deep rings of pvc pipe, around every gauge. Al is painted black, exept ofcourse where the gauges are visible. This way you get a nice depth effect that makes the gauges look rather real.

    Recently - this week actually - I added a rotary encoder leftdown at the NAV1/compass gauge rim, in the hope I can get the encoder to turn my Horizontal Situation Indicator. This however I am now trying to 'programm', indeed in SIOC.

    Wish you a joyfull thinking process !
    Bram


    Greetings,
    Bram Stikkel