Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Motion Cueing Software

I'm currently looking into building a small scale 6 degree of freedom motion platform. Since my day job is as a programmer I thought I'd try to write the controller software before investing in hardware.

I've been able to use the SimConnect SDK to get data out of flight simulator, but I don't know how to proceed in translating this data into cues for the platform.

Every thing I've found on the topic is a PhD level paper that goes beyond my knowledge to decipher.

Does anyone know any websites or books that go through the next steps needed?

Thanks!

Also, if I'm able to find the information to continue, and there's interest, I'm willing to write up my progress on here or on a blog to assist other people wanting to do the same.

500+ This must be a daytime job

Re: Motion Cueing Software

Hi,
    Try this link, Jim had been a Motion Platform junkie from way back. He frequents this site with his Link2fs program. Im sure he will be
    able to give u some guidence.

http://www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm

Hope this helps.
    Les

300+ Forum Addict

Also, look at X-sim.de
    This site is stacked with a sorts of motion plaforms and Q&A
    greetz

150+ Forum Groupie

Hi Steve
    next step is to output the values you've extracted from FS into the real world. You can use Jim's excellent Links2fs which will send the data out of a serial port. Of course you need to send this data to some hardware to drive your motion platform. Several ways of doing this.