Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: APU switch

  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    APU switch

    Hello,

    I am trying to assign the APU switch function to a toggle ON-OFF-Momentary ON, I am doing the following:

    add variables 85,87 in lekseecon_f.ini
    in FSUIPC
    for the toggle ON : when pressed :Offset Byte set x9055 Parameter 01
    when released: Offset Byte set x9055 Parameter 00

    for the toggle Momentary ON : when pressed : Offset Byte set x9057 parameter 01
    when released: Offset Byte set x9057 parameter 00

    in lvl-d, when the toggle is ON, APU switch is OFF
    when the toggle is OFF, nothing happens (of course)
    when the toggle is Mom ON then released, APU switch moves to ON then START then ON then START and so on,

    I am expecting that once the momentary is released its parameter should be cleared and the APU switch should follow the logic of lvl-d, i.e the APU switch should spring back and stay in the ON position, but this is not happening, in addition to that I am getting this message in lekseecon log file
    "---> WARNING:No initial value info received for Rotary Switch 85:87, forced to 86 (most likely?)"


    any ideas why ?

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: APU switch

    Hi,
    Vars 85, 86 and 87 are of type RL which means that they model the terminals of a three position rotary switch...

    So your first problem is that you are not using variable 86...
    Your second problem is that at start up you have no values in the FSUIPC offsets (all are 0) and that's the reason for that WARNING, lekseecon cannot determine the position of your hardware APU switch...

    Your third problem (probably):
    I don't understand what you mean with a ON-OFF-Monetary ON switch, but i think you're on a wrong track. You should use a rotary switch with three positions and at each positional change you have to update 3 FSUIPC offsets....

    Nico

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: APU switch

    Hi,

    Toggle ON-OFF-Momentary ON, is a toggle with three positions, ON,OFF and momentary ON that springs back to OFF when released, it gives two outputs, i.e. it is read as two buttons.
    Since it gives two outputs, I am not using variable 86 because I am not using its offset, I only use the offsets of variable 85 and 87 so when I assign the function the APU switch goes from OFF to START ( passing by ON) and then it should normally go back to ON once I release the momentary.

    Could you please tell me how to do that using a three position rotary because I believe I am doing it all wrong,

    Regards,

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: APU switch

    Hi Nico,

    This is how I assign APU function switch using 3 position rotary
    in lekseecon_f.ini: add variables 85,86,87

    in FSUIPC interface:
    Position (1): when button pressed --> Offset Byte Set x9055 Parameter 01
    when button released --> Offset Byte set x9055 Parameter 00

    Position (2) when button pressed --> Offset Byte Set x9056 Parameter 01
    when button released --> Offset Byte Set x9056 Parameter 00

    Position (3): when button pressed -->Offset Byte Set x9057 Parameter 01
    when button released --> Offset Byte Set x9057 Parameter 00

    I tried it this way and it seems to function normally till now with no error messages in lekseecon log, is it right ???

    Your input will be really appreciated,

    Regards,

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: APU switch

    Hi,
    Looks fine to me. Note that at any moment in time there should be only one '1' in these 3 offsets (due to the mechanical construction of a rotary switch). When changing position there will be a tiny moment with 3 zeroes but that is no problem for lekseecon.

    Also note that you have to put the APU switch back in the ON position manually after START (after you have seen the run light lit up twice).

    Regards,
    Nico

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: APU switch

    Hi,

    Thanks for the reply, but is there is any other way to do it beside this?, just for my info,

    Regards,

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: APU switch

    Hi,

    This is the easiest and cheapest way and it reflects the real life situation best. To improve it further some people use a solenoid to pull the Switch back in the ON position after some time, but that is much more complicated and needs more skills...

    You can try to use two buttons, like you were, but then you need some logic to determine the values of the three FSUIPC offsets. You can do that with systems like FSBUS or SIOC working on FSUIP offsets, but I doubt you can do that with FSUIPC only.

    Regards,
    Nico

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: APU switch

    Hi,

    I tried to program the function through FSUIPC and managed by modifying the FSUIPC.ini file,
    first I had to enter the all the variables of the APU switch in lekseecon_f.ini : 85 86 87
    then in FSUIPC.ini I entered the following:

    [Buttons.Level D Simulations B767-300ER]
    0=PA,0,Cx01009055,x01
    1=PA,0,Cx01009056,x00
    2=PA,0,Cx01009057,x00
    3=UA,0,Cx01009055,x00
    4=UA,0,Cx01009056,x01
    5=UA,0,Cx01009057,x00
    6=PA,1,Cx01009057,x01
    7=PA,1,Cx01009056,x00
    8=PA,1,Cx01009055,x00
    9=UA,1,Cx01009057,x00
    10=UA,1,Cx01009056,x01
    11=UA,1,Cx01009055,x00

    Now this works well with the toggle ON-OFF-Momentary ON,
    Toggle ON(first) position --> APU OFF
    Toggle OFF(middle) position --> APU moves to ON
    Toggle Momentary ON (it springs back to middle position once released) ---> APU moves to START which springs back on the the lvl-d overhead to ON

    This seemed to work fine (except it gives a warning in the log file if the toggle is in OFF(middle) position since lekseecon does not receive any signal from the toggle, but if the toggle is in ON(first) position it does not give any warnings. Despite the warning, the function of the toggle is fine since lekseecon.exe chooses to set the switch to the middle variable 86 which is the same position of the toggle middle position, so lvl-d stays in sync with the toggle switch)

    Regards,

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: APU switch

    Hi,
    Well done! Good job.
    Don't pay anymore attention to that Warning, it is not severe.
    Enjoy,
    Regards,
    Nico

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: APU switch

    Hi
    For those interessed I've attached the schematics of the APU switch.
    As you see this is a 3 position rotary with the START position as
    springloaded momentary and without any holding solenoid as on the main
    engine start switches.

    Some text from misc. sources:

    The main battery switch on the P5 overhead panel must
    be ON for an APU start. The APU control switch on the P5
    overhead panel is set to the START position,
    hold at the START position for one second and manually
    set to the ON position.

    So even if the switch return to "ON" by itself the crew is instructed
    to manually set to "ON" and this is the reason:

    Boeing Operators have reported that the APU Start Switch can fail to initiate an APU start.
    Intermittent starts are due to variations in the switch contact bounce time when
    the spring-loaded switch is released from the START to ON position. Contact
    bounce lasting longer than the interfacing start relay drop-out time (measured
    as low as 0.75ms) causes the relay to de-energise, removing the START/ON command
    to the APU Electronic Control Unit, resulting in a failed APU start
    attempt.

    Implementation of the APU Start Switch design change is in
    progress to install a capacitor across the start relay coil to increase drop-out
    time to 30ms. In the meantime, crews are advised to manually guide the switch
    from START to ON to reduce contact bounce.

    FUN IT IS - As real as it gets Happy building.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast