Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    long beach, california, usa
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Need a bit of help with jims8buttons - if this is the right forum?

    Hi - trying to get FSX and Visual Basic 2010 talking in prep for bridging to Arduino, and found Jims test software, jims8buttons. Sorry if this is the wrong forum - it's a big place you've got here.

    Jims example is setup for Visual Studio 2008, but that appears no longer available. I have 2010, and when I create the project, create the form, drop in the code, light up FSX, and execute, I get an unhandled exception - "error creating window handle".

    Any thoughts? I am running Win 7 64 on a quad core.

    Thanks - please direct me to where I should go if this is not the right place.

    Regards
    Dave

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need a bit of help with jims8buttons - if this is the right forum?

    I haven't heard of that particular error but I'm guessing it has to do with your IDE settings within Visual Basic while on a 64 bit Operating System.

    I made a help file for changing the IDE settings (which you need to do) for it to compile into a 32 bit application.

    Good luck ,,, Jim
    Last edited by Jim NZ; 05-02-2014 at 06:01 PM.
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  3. Likes trumpet.1 liked this post
  4. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    long beach, california, usa
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need a bit of help with jims8buttons - if this is the right forum?

    Thanks, Jim. I guess this is the right forum after all.

    The build config menu is not visible by default so it took me a while to find it - then it showed that the default platform is already x86. So, looking elsewhere - I am using the SimConnect from your VBnet_fsx_8Buttons_text folder - there might be a later one? I'll look. Also, the exception does not ID any line of source code, saying "No Source Available - No symbols are loaded for any call stack frame."

    Trying to step through, it makes it past InitializeComponent but dies on exitiing Public Sub New().

    Not complaining - it's great you provide some examples and I am looking forward to getting it going. I am pretty good already with Arduino (and Atmel in general) micro controller stuff and used to be a programmer back in the day so first this little problem, then Link2FS, then a space shuttle cockpit...

    I'll let you know how it goes.

    Thanks again - Dave

  5. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need a bit of help with jims8buttons - if this is the right forum?

    Dave ,,

    It is the actual VB 2008 project which should just convert itself when you try to load it with a newer version of VB.net.

    Good luck ,,, Jim
    Last edited by Jim NZ; 05-02-2014 at 06:02 PM.
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  6. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    long beach, california, usa
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need a bit of help with jims8buttons...

    Making a bit of progress. The VB project Jim provided in the previous post converted to VB Express 2010 with no errors, but needed the following added to the app.config file in order to execute:

    Well, I have some XML to go here but I can't figure out how to make it show instead of getting "interpreted" out of the post? Pretend the square brackets are angle brackets:

    [startup useLegacyV2RuntimeActivationPolicy="true"]
    [supportedRuntime version="v4.0" /]
    [/startup]


    This is good - the app started up fine. This however is on my work PC (don't tell them) and I don't have FSX loaded on it. Plus, it is an x86 laptop and my home PC is an x64 desktop, so I'll try it out at home tonight with FSX running and let you know.

    -Dave
    Last edited by trumpet.1; 10-12-2012 at 05:47 PM. Reason: XML text didn't show

  7. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need a bit of help with jims8buttons - if this is the right forum?

    Good stuff Dave ,,, although I'm surprised you had to alter the App.config file. I would have thought everything would have "just converted".

    Can you do us a favor ??? When you get it all sorted and running but before you actually start "playing" with it ,, can you zip up the whole project and when I update my site next, I'll put it in there. (If your OK with that ?)
    Now that 2008 is not freely available it's probably not much good having the code in text format that suit's 2008 any more.
    I'll put up the proper source code for 2008 and yours.???

    I did actually have 2010 installed in my other computer but reverted back to 2008 but i can't remember why.

    Good luck with it Dave ,,,, Jim
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  8. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    long beach, california, usa
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need a bit of help with jims8buttons - if this is the right forum?

    And, it worked at home with the xml addition (in post above) to the app.config. Note: I did confirm that on an x64 machine, in the configuration manager, instead of "Any CPU", it must be explicitly set to "x86" - as Jim specified in the 64_bit_help file of his earlier post.

    I'll send the converted file to Jim as he requsted. Thanks for the help, and you will be hearing from me again. Next I'll fool with Link2fs.

    -Dave




    OK -

  9. Thanks Jim NZ thanked for this post
  10. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need a bit of help with jims8buttons - if this is the right forum?

    Thanks Dave ,, marvelous.
    Jim
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  11. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need a bit of help with jims8buttons - if this is the right forum?

    Got it ,, I'll probably update things this week-end (If not before)
    Thanks again Dave ,,, Jim
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  12. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need a bit of help with jims8buttons - if this is the right forum?

    Thanks Dave.


    On updating my web page on all this I found that Visual Studio 2008 Express is still available but they have moved it from their "front door" to make way for their 2012 version.


    Have fun ,,, Jim
    Last edited by Jim NZ; 05-02-2014 at 06:03 PM.
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !