Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    steppermotor and sensor

    Hi
    I've been trying to use my steppermotor card(OC). i connected a stepper motor to J6 and optic sensor to J9 but the stepper keeps rotating. is there a way to check if the optic sensor is working. The optic sensor is a sharp GP1A57HRJ00F and i wired it as in the OC maual.
    Hope some one can help me out.
    Thnx and regards,
    henri

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: steppermotor and sensor

    Henri:

    The most common failure is the infrared led.
    The USBStepper card, donīt have a limiter resistor for the infrared led.
    This resistor is to be added externally.(is no clear in the manual)


    First;
    Have you put a 330 or 470 ohms limiter resistor for the infrared led (pin 1 and 2)?
    If not, the led is blow.


    To check the infrared led, use a multimeter and use a webcam, phone cam or another type of camera.


    With the multimeter in ohms, check the infrared led (pins 1 and 2) in both ways.
    (red cable to pin 1 and black cable to pin 2 and vice versa)


    If the led blow, the multimeter show 0 or infinite resistance in both ways.
    (open or closed).
    Change the sensor..........


    If the led is ok, you have near 0 ohms in one medition (not cero, near 0), and a high resistance in the other.


    To check visually
    Feed the led with 5 VCC (donīt forget the limiter resistor!!!)
    Use the webcam or camera and point to the infrared led.
    If the led is ok,will bright like a white light in the camera
    (not visible to the human eye, but every camera today can "see" infrared light).




    Second:
    If the led is ok, with the sensor conected at the stepper card,use the multimeter in volts and measure pin 5 and pin 4. (multimeter black cable in pin 5 and red in pin 6).
    Interrupt the light with something big and opaque and check if the multimeter changes from 5 to 0 volts.


    If you can measure that diference, the sensor is ok.


    Third:
    Use a different method of blocking the light (sometimes, the needle is not enought, you need a wider or deeper flag), and make the test with external lights out. (some sensor are "confused" with other light sources).
    Good luck!

  3. Thanks jollive thanked for this post
  4. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: steppermotor and sensor

    Thxs hyamesto,
    when you talk about pin 1 and 2 you mean the pins from the sensor. i did use a 300 ohms on pin 1 but not on pin 2 (cathode)
    Ok got some cheking to do.
    thnx for the advice.
    regards,
    henri

  5. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: steppermotor and sensor

    Sorry, pin 1 "or" pin 2, and minimum 330 ohms (better 470 ohms)

    circuit1.jpg

  6. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: steppermotor and sensor

    Super and thnxs

  7. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: steppermotor and sensor

    Hi Guys,
    some how i don't have any luck with the opticsensor. just wonder if i can use a reflective sensor instead on the USB-steppercard (because i know they are working Used them before on a phidget card).
    regards,
    henri

  8. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: steppermotor and sensor

    You can try. The function of the sensor is equal to a switch, (you can try this too, with a flexible contactor found in older cassette players)
    Look the picture.
    I have tried several types of sensors ("U" shape form rescued from old printers), and all work great.
    Look at the recommendations in post 2.
    Ever, a simple conection error, kill the sensor.

    cont.jpg

  9. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: steppermotor and sensor

    Thanks hyamesto,
    I'm working on the reflective sensor. when done I'll let U know the result.
    regards,
    henri

  10. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: steppermotor and sensor

    Hi back again,
    there is progress. The stepper is calibrating and stops at the sensor. Problem is that when calibrating it rotates clock wise but when it has to show the altitude it always rotates anti clock wise. I did tried to change the wires then it rotates ok, but the next time i launch it rotates anti clock wise again.
    Any solution for this problem????
    regards,
    henri

  11. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: steppermotor and sensor

    Ok looks like I have the wires correct now. next is the script.
    regards,
    henri

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast