Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Simkits USB Altimeter help!!!

    Hi all,
    Seems I'm not having any luck getting a response to my emails from Simkits Support I thought I'd ask around here and see if anyone has had or Resolved this issue.

    I am trying to start the USB Altimeter using the TRCUSBsLink V2.0 downloaded the latest version, however I keep getting an error stating

    ď Please report unhandled exception ! The specified module could not be found ( Exception from HRESULT:0x8007oo7E). Can you tell me what is causing this, the instrument is recognized by my PC and calibrates ok but I canít link it to Microsoft flight sim.

    I have tried on two different PSís one of them is running windows 7 the other is running windows XP, .net framework updated using the software downloaded fromhttp://www.simkits.com/downloads/sof...SBFsLink21.zip. I have also updated FSUIPC.



    Even better maybe someone has an older driver/software that I can try, the instrument is about 3 years old, I've only just finally got around to building it.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Simkits USB Altimeter help!!!

    I may have an older version 1.8 I think if its of any use.
    I may be able to help

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Simkits USB Altimeter help!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by muzza View Post
    I may have an older version 1.8 I think if its of any use.
    I may be able to help
    Thanks ,I'll give it a go, at least then if it does not work I know I'm doing something wrong with the software install. I will pm you my email address.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Simkits USB Altimeter help!!!

    Got it sorted thanks to Muzza, i had been pulling my hair out for days trying to resolve this, i installed version 1.9 and it worked straight away without any troubles. It seems the version on the simkits website Link 21 has a problem tried the program on 3 different PC's with the same problem. i connected the altimeter to FS2004 without any problems, i cant get it to connect to FSX, it comes up with an error Exception 5. ill try to install FSUIPC to FSX and see if that sorts the problem.

    If anyone else has had similar problems feel free to leave me any tips with the FSX problem.


    Many thanks

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Simkits USB Altimeter help!!!

    Hello. Im having the exact same problem with my new altimeter. Would you mind sharing 1.8 with me? Im using FS9.
    Home of the world's first South American DC-8 jetliner.
    Home of the Blue Angel F-4 Phantom simulator.

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Simkits USB Altimeter help!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by dc8flightdeck View Post
    Hello. Im having the exact same problem with my new altimeter. Would you mind sharing 1.8 with me? Im using FS9.
    Hi PM me your email and ill send it to you.
    Thanks

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Simkits USB Altimeter help!!!

    Hello, the PM has been sent. Thanks!

    Justin

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Simkits USB Altimeter help!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by dc8flightdeck View Post
    Hello, the PM has been sent. Thanks!

    Justin
    Hi Justin,
    I have sent it to you, hope it works for you !

    Thanks

    Clint

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Simkits USB Altimeter help!!!

    Guess I should give a report. On two computers it still will not work. On my laptop I got it to function. The pressure knobs doesn work and once in a while the altimeter freezes for a few seconds. Simkits only responded to my first email. :/

    So it doesnt work right but its wooking good enough to get my by until I finally get around to interfacing my real altimeter.

    Thank you for the old driver, it saved the day!

    Justin
    Home of the world's first South American DC-8 jetliner.
    Home of the Blue Angel F-4 Phantom simulator.

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Simkits USB Altimeter help!!!

    One more update. With FSX the latest driver works fine and the QNH functions correctly. It appears it doesnt support FS9 and that is the reason the older drivers were required.

    Justin
    Home of the world's first South American DC-8 jetliner.
    Home of the Blue Angel F-4 Phantom simulator.