Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member Infinity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    87
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    IO board without interfacing software

    Guys, before I take the leap and purchase an IO Board, I'm confused on the software side of things. At what point is FSUIPC or similiar interface software required?

    In other words, is it possible to assign the default keyboard commands of fs9 or fsx directly to an IO Board? By that I mean plug in, assign a toggle, pot, or encoder to a key command and fly? No other interface but the default software and board driver.

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: IO board without interfacing software

    For inputs the BUO836X is pretty much plug and play for everything except encoders. The encoders do require a small utility. Easy stuff though.

    As long as the commands that you want are in the controls menu within FS you can assign just like a joystick there. FSUIPC is pretty handy to have in the long term though because it allows access to controls that are not in that list.

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member Infinity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    87
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: IO board without interfacing software

    Thanks Reid. Yeah, I thought I was on the right track. The utility program for the BUO838X you speak of is the download option included on the website correct? Thanks.

    I do plan on incorporating FSUIPC eventually.

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: IO board without interfacing software

    Yes, the encoder utility is accessed through the main purchasing page.
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: IO board without interfacing software

    Hi, I have been looking at the same problem and the BBI-32 does now manage Rotary Encoders Button Box Interface BBI-32

    However, of a potential 100+ keys, 32,16,11 inputs won't go far meaning several i/o boards. I have posted a method using as many transistors as keys required plus a cheap keyboard to cut down the number of specialist i/o boards.

    The post is listed as "FS keyboard re-visited - NO SOFTWARE"

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: IO board without interfacing software

    Much later... I have solved this perennial problem for myself and posted this note:
    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/show...ht=#post163539