Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Gatineau, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    My 737-800 cockpit

    Hi guys,

    I started last year with this project and most of that time was used in research. I have now started putting things together.

    Like everyone else I started with 1 computer, a desk, joystick and throttle. Since last year I have been adding stuff to my sim. This is the equipment I have so far.

    Current equipment:

    simstep1.jpg

    Next step will be my MIP. I'm going for a full size 737NG cockpit with a 225 curved screen setup for visuals. MCP, EFIS and pedestal will be CPFlight. As you can see I allready have the EFIS and MCP. I will then be elliminating the desk completely so I thought I would share my "starting point" so you can see the progress. I will be using Prosim737 for avionics soft. The plan is to build the OH, shell and TQ myself.

    So it's now official! The project has started

    I'll keep this thread updated as the project moves forward. Hope you will enjoy it.

    Thanks for reading
    Chris

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,050
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My 737-800 cockpit

    Hey Chris, keep us posted. I am also planning to build my cockpit. I do not have the CPFlight MCP and EFIS but will be planning to purchase them soon.

    Which company did you decide to go with for the MIP?

    FDS? Flyengravity?

    I've been with Poldragonet and they said they will be bringing out a 2/3 MIP in Oct for 500 (!) Euro.

    The back lighting in FDS panels are excellent though.

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Gatineau, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My 737-800 cockpit

    Hi,

    I'm building the MIP myself, full size. The panels for it will be from FDS. The reason I went for the FDS is because of the top quality and also the company is close to my location therefore I save alot on shipping vs getting the stuff from Europe. Thanks for the info about Poldragonet!

    I'll keep you posted for sure!

    Chris

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,050
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My 737-800 cockpit

    Are you ordering the mip bundle + hardware/electronics kit + io board + dimming board all at once?

    It is very heavy on the credit card at once.

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Gatineau, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My 737-800 cockpit

    No. Not everything at once for that same reason.
    Here are my steps for the MIP:

    1. Build the MIP structure (MDF) following the 1:1 plans I found on this site: http://users.skynet.be/jcordon/cockpit/plans.htm

    2. Purchase 2 X 18.5" widescreen LCDs for captain and FO flight instruments (from Ebay)
    I will be using one of my 15" displays for the EICAS (for now)

    3. Purchase the panels from FDS

    4. Purchase the CPFlight MIP board

    5. Purchase all the switches, knobs and AFDS (Fly Engavity) and plug everything to the CPFlight MIP board

    6. Purchase the landing lever (Fly engravity) and join it the MIP board

    7. Purchase the dimming board and plug it in.

    All steps are seperated about 1 month or more from eachother so my wife doesnt suffer from a heart attack .

    Chris

  6. #6
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My 737-800 cockpit

    Hi Chris

    Looking forward to seeing your progress. Pictures speak a thousand words and it's always great to see the transformation in a series of images.

    Thanks for the photo, it seems you have some of the bare essentials to get you going like the mcp.
    Nice to have another boeing builder with us.
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,050
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My 737-800 cockpit

    Hi Chris,

    Can I ask why you've decided to go with the flyengravity electronic kit and MIP board and not FDS?

    Is it okay to mix and match from different companies?

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Gatineau, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My 737-800 cockpit

    Hi,

    Because of the software i'll be using (Prosim737).
    It seems to have less problems with the CPFlight stuff (someone correct me if i'm wrong)

    Chris

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,050
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My 737-800 cockpit

    Prosim supports the fds io cards. I've heard they are as plug and play as you can get.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhl2Z...e_gdata_player

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Gatineau, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My 737-800 cockpit

    Thanks for the info. I will be using the CPFlight radios etc.
    Can everything connect together if I use the FDS MIP board? I thought the CPFlight pedestal units would connect in daisy chain to that board wich in turn connects to the MCP?
    Chris Verner
    Project Boeing 737NG

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast