Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: the Sim Console

  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict gokhotit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    the Sim Console

    I made a video of my little whatchacallit. It is nothing impressive or glamorous, but it does what I want it to do. Let me know what you think.

    Last edited by Matt Olieman; 07-04-2012 at 09:53 PM. Reason: embedded video
    I'm not replicating anything, because I like to fly everything.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HG1LP3xxn0Q

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ogden UT
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: the Sim Console

    Nice set up!
    Sometimes I think the most difficult part of building a home cockpit is deciding which aircraft to base it on!

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict gokhotit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: the Sim Console

    Don't got to worry about that issue.
    I'm not replicating anything, because I like to fly everything.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HG1LP3xxn0Q

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie



    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Moore OK
    Posts
    158
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: the Sim Console

    Great work, you are doing a fine job! What are you doing for your metalwork (such as the autopilot panel)? Is the autopilot panel made from real aircraft bits, or do you have access to machining?

    Matt

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict gokhotit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: the Sim Console

    The console metalwork i did myself. I used a company called Front Panel Express for the autopilot panel front plate (due to the exactness that it needed to be), the box is made of wood. The switches are MilSpec pushbutton annunciator switches (brand new they are about $700 a piece, got them all for free, legally), and I did all the wiring.
    I'm not replicating anything, because I like to fly everything.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HG1LP3xxn0Q

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict gokhotit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: the Sim Console

    Just put up a video on how I got my mixture handles to work. Works great for throttles also.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bdxTJejy778
    I'm not replicating anything, because I like to fly everything.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HG1LP3xxn0Q

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie



    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Moore OK
    Posts
    158
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: the Sim Console

    Cool, I'm doing almost exactly the same thing with my Cessna 337 throttle quadrant, except I'm plugging into a Leo Bodnar board (saves me a bit of programming headache since it shows up as a native joystick device). 100k slide pots to RC pushrods with clevises soldered on. Quick and easy!

    Matt