Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    737 AT, TOGA and fuel switches in PM

    I'm after a bit of help here ... just got my throttle quadrant and we've got the outputs from it wired up to an OpenCockpits Axes card. Throttles, spoiler and flaps all working well, but we can't seem to get the switches to work properly. We've tried various button assignments in FS9 and FSUIPC with no luck.

    So I was wondering if anyone knew the best method of getting Autothrottle-disconnect switch, TOGA switch, and fuel-cuttoffs to work. I'm using FSUIPC (full) and PM systems with the PMDG737 airfile.

    cheers
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey NicD. Can you see in FSUIC when you press or toggle any of the buttons? If so you can assigne them there. Waiting for your reply.
    Bob Reed

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Bob. Yes the buttons bring up a joy# and button# number in the FSUIPC interface. I've tried asigning FS9 and PM actions there (using FS control on the right) but the aircraft does not respond.

    Interestingly, the TOGA and AT-disconnect switches seem to be momentary - FSUIPC only shows them when they are held down.
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Both of those should only be 'momentary' type switches from a software point of view. Do you have them dual-assigned? Are they assigned in FS9 AND FSUIPC? Remove any assignments from FS9 for those.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member PeterH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    EDDM
    Posts
    143
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Nic,

    just another thought on this: make sure you assign 2 values for your switches:
    one for pressing the key (down value)
    one for key release (up value)

    Otherwise it might be that FSUIPC tstinks that the key has not been released and this could lead to strange results.


    So far my 2 pennies worth


    Best rgds

    Peter

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by NicD View Post
    Interestingly, the TOGA and AT-disconnect switches seem to be momentary - FSUIPC only shows them when they are held down.
    The FSUIPC button options screen shows the most recent button which changed from an "Off" to an "On" state. It doesn't respond to the "On" to "Off" transition because that would be most annoying when trying to program a large number of transient buttons, as most joystick-type buttons are.

    However, in operation, it detects and, if programmed, operates on both transitions. You have evidently not noticed some things on the screen and documented for you.

    Please take another look at the options screen, or the pictures in the User documentation and you will see that you can assign actions to the "Press" (off to on) or the Release (on to off) or both, or, of course, neither.

    In other words you can do whatever you like!

    Regards

    Pete

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Peter, and everyone, for the information. I'll do some more work on it and report back.
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

Similar Threads

  1. I need ideas for Magneto & Fuel switches please.
    By kwaka in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-12-2008, 07:41 AM
  2. Fuel Handle and APU fuel consumption
    By eudoniga in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-04-2008, 09:59 AM
  3. fuel cutoff switches assign to my TQ
    By mvc340 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-02-2008, 01:03 PM
  4. PM TOGA Functionality
    By imported_Rob's 747-400 in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-04-2005, 12:11 PM