Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What I'm about to do with an Arduino.

    Hi, guys. Glad to be here!

    Well, here's the thing: I have a Saitek Pro Flight Yoke with a dead chip (it's ... hummm... toasted, don't ask me how...). As I don't want to loose it and as it's really hard to find the original board here in Brazil for replacing, I thought: what about replacing the dead one by an Arduino!

    Is it possible?
    Best regards.
    Marcio.

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie WJH308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    159
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: What I'm about to do with an Arduino.

    Quote Originally Posted by ctapoeys View Post
    Hi, guys. Glad to be here!

    Well, here's the thing: I have a Saitek Pro Flight Yoke with a dead chip (it's ... hummm... toasted, don't ask me how...). As I don't want to loose it and as it's really hard to find the original board here in Brazil for replacing, I thought: what about replacing the dead one by an Arduino!

    Is it possible?
    Best regards.
    Marcio.
    Of course it is possible but in my opinion, it is not the best tool for the job... Unless... You are able to reprogram the USB avr on certain arduino's so it looks like a USB joystick...

    You most likely do not know how to do this, so I recommend this instead...
    http://www.leobodnar.com/products/BU0836/

    What you want to do is EXACTLY what I did with my CH yoke, when the chip died inside it. I bought one of his cards, works perfectly. I even rewired my rudder pedals to go through it as well so my older games that only support one joystick could work.
    I bought the high resolution one, although thinking about it now, the added resolution doesn't really do anything for you!

  3. Thanks ctapoeys thanked for this post
  4. #3
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: What I'm about to do with an Arduino.

    Im fact, Leo's BU0836 was my first option, but unfortunately he doesn't post that board to Brazil (there's an explicit message there about it) and he doesn't reply any e-mail telling me why either, so I had to find alternatives to get my yoke back to life again with no lack of quality.

    There's a board on sale here in Brazil which accepts configuration via FSUIPC, but it's much more expensive compared to the other two boards. Maybe I decide to buy that one.
    Thanks a lot and sorry for the poor english.
    Márcio.

  5. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie WJH308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    159
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: What I'm about to do with an Arduino.

    Well if that is the case, then I would think you could have one of your friends order it in the country they live in, then they send you the board in the mail.
    Another option is this guy...
    http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/index.html
    It is like an arduino pro mini except it has a USB AVR on it. He even made an addon for it to be used with the arduino ide.
    I would look for example code projects that convert it to a HID joystick controller, much like the BU0836.
    I have never done this yet, so I can't help you with it. It certainly is something on my list of nuts to crack.

  6. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie WJH308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    159
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: What I'm about to do with an Arduino.

    Good news, you can use this to make yourself a joystick adapter...
    http://www.fourwalledcubicle.com/LUFA.php

  7. #6
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: What I'm about to do with an Arduino.

    I must confess that all these things are new for me. Does LUFA works with Teensy and/or Arduino? From what I understood there are some ready libraries for joystick devices and I woudn't need programming anything. Am I right?

  8. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie WJH308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    159
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: What I'm about to do with an Arduino.

    You WILL need to program, and you should be well versed in it. Sorry, no easy way around it. Hey, maybe some one on this forum can ship you one of Leo's cards for your yoke. A paypal type thing or what ever.

  9. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: What I'm about to do with an Arduino.

    After some negotiation I got a great discount on that board they are selling here in Brazil. The stuff is realy good, no need of programming, recognized by Windows, configured by FSUIPC, with a 5V output for the clock/chronometer, encoders, axes, switches, etc. Comes with three flat cables. For me it's enough.

    Thank you so much, WJH308.

  10. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie WJH308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    159
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: What I'm about to do with an Arduino.

    Glad you found a solution!