Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    43
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Unhappy Flight characteristics as real aircrafts

    Hello,
    I am building homecockpits since 4 years using several hardware and PM double Boeing setup. My new project is a 737NG using...
    1. CP USB MCP and both EFIS units
    2. 4 clients driving PM software and the server driving FS9 (default 737)
    3. PM System interfaces with Phidgets directly.
    Everything is working fine... ,But...
    Can enybody tell me the trick to get an nearly real flying aircraft.
    Every ILS is out of limits using the PM MCP driven by the CP MCP. When intercepting the GS (HAM RWY 23) the FD commands UP, the aircraft is climbing above all selected altitudes. No LOC intercept is correct. Autoland is impossible at all.
    What I am doing wrong ???
    Is there any special setting to do or must I use another flight model...?
    Many thanks and a happy new year...
    Brian

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Brian. Hmmm sounds like something is not setup right, or you have the default autopilot fighting with PM's. When you say it is commanding up, what altitude do you have set in your MCP? Do you have the AP ingauged? The aircraft still needs you to set the altitudes in the MCP. It will not command them automaticly unless you set it up to do that. As far as the ILS being out of range you don't get them untill about 10NM out. What are you using for radios? I will help, we can get this working.
    Bob Reed

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member Olympic260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens Greece
    Posts
    79
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Also do u have the latest builds of PM software?

    Chris

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    43
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile

    Hi Chris,
    Hi Bob,
    At first...
    many thanks for replying so fast.
    When I intercepting the LOC within range (MCP SPEED selected 170, Flaps 5, APP ARM, A/P A & B selected) The LOC is captured (+/- half to one dot). The FMA is showing LOC green, GS ARMED white. So far so good...
    MCP ALT is set to 3000, that is the intermediate altitude for the RWY 23 in HAM.
    When approaching the GS there was no intersept. The FD commanded pitch up, the aircraft followed and begun to climb above the selected altitude.
    Using the default 737 without PM MCP sofware, interception is normal but could be some more precisely.
    By the way, what flight models are you using ?
    Brian

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict ekezz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nieuw Vennep - Netherlands
    Posts
    339
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Interesting issue. Can you tell us something about the plan in the CDU/FMS. I wonder if you have set a runway extension like 12 miles out, this sometimes helps to get aligned in time. And just asking for the obvious, but do you have the runway selected including the radio settings?

    Maybe you can upload the flight plans (MS-FS and CDU) to our File Library in the section Flight Plans. Then we can fly the plan and see what happens.
    Last edited by ekezz; 01-03-2007 at 04:30 PM. Reason: added flight plan suggestion
    Kester Meijer
    http://www.mycockpit.nl - to see my cockpit construction
    Certified De-Ice Supervisor EHAM

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Kester's idea is a good one. Will let us see what you are seeing or if it is specific to your setup.
    Bob Reed

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member Brian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    43
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks,
    I will work on it tomorrow..
    keeping you advise.
    Brian

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member Olympic260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens Greece
    Posts
    79
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Brian View Post
    .
    By the way, what flight models are you using ?
    Brian

    I am using the PMDG Flight model with the PMDGvisual model. IMHO is the closest to the real


    Chris

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Brian,

    One thing that you mentioned is that your Aircraft tries to pitch up when going to intercept.

    Limitations with flightsim, make sure when your intercepting G/S you always below the G/S flying into it.

    The autopilots generally always want to climb to intercept the G/S.

    You probably already know this, just my tidbit on a possible easy elimination.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Oh.. Good catch Trevor. I did not think of that. I just do it without thinking! You must be below GS. And around 45deg to the ILS. PM is not as picky about that but good practice.
    Bob Reed

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 1st Real flight
    By Steve A in forum General Related to FS9 & FSX Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2009, 05:11 PM
  2. "Real" AI Aircrafts fs9
    By Jackpilot in forum FS2004 Aircraft Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-25-2009, 04:55 AM
  3. AI aircrafts repaint FS9
    By Jackpilot in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-21-2008, 02:06 PM
  4. eyepoints in projected views 737 real flight deck
    By steve diamond in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2005, 03:35 PM