Header MyCockpit
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Barneveld, Netherlands
    Posts
    29
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    (B737) Hardware for the lower subpanels

    Hi All,

    The glareshield is nearly done, was thinking about a new project: the lower subpanels.

    I see many panels available on the web, but what kind of hardware do I need to control the lightning? I want to make use of dimming lights. I will make use of a LED strip, 12V.

    Thanks for the help !

    Regards,
    Raymond

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    883
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: (B737) Hardware for the lower subpanels

    Raymond

    I use these to dim my led strips and they work very well

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DC-12V-8A-...ht_3837wt_1163

    You can strip these units to get at the little circuit board and pot to use them easily in your sim

    David

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    709
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: (B737) Hardware for the lower subpanels

    I'm using these exact same dimmers too. They are great little units. As David has mentioned, get rid of the box and they can be mounted straight into the sim.

  4. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,425
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: (B737) Hardware for the lower subpanels

    Good link and tip guys, I just ordered 5 units for the growing Boeing!

    Cheers,
    Gwyn
    Aerosim Solutions

    737NG using Prosim737, NThusimPlus, Aerosim Solutions hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    478
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: (B737) Hardware for the lower subpanels

    I have this type of dimmer as well and here are some pointers:

    1. The normal knob on the lower panel has a bigger inside diameter than then that of the dimmer box shaft, so all you need to do is place a small flat piece of plastic or metal as a shim in the hole of the knob before placing it on the shaft; assuming your knobs have an allen wrench set screw to hold them onto the shaft.

    2. You can just remove the dimmer's knob and lid, and then cut the wires from the pot and make an extension wire from the same size/type wiring and place it in between the distance of where you want the actual dimmer pot to be and the location of the box. There is no reason to dispose of the box; especially, since it has four mounting holes to mount it somewhere different from the pot itself. Once you have the pot with the extension wire made, place the box wherever you need it and run your extension wires to pot.

    3. Use a less-than 8 Amps blade type circurt breaker and holder in between the DC power source and the box. Thus, you will not chance burning your box components and led lighting from shorts or spikes.

    4. Make sure the Amps of the Led Lighting are not over that of the box and only use one strip per box; be conservative, otherwise you'll shorten the lifespan of the dimmer box and Led Lights.

    5. Always order one more than you need as you might get a bad one in your order, and you're now left waiting for the replacement, as opposed to having the extra one on hand. When it comes to working on a MIP, which most times have to be pulled out or moved forward to access the back, it is better to get all the work done at once and not be waiting for a replacement part, so you can pull the MIP out again and again.

    I have learned it is best to pull the MIP as little as needed, but then again, my MIP has no access to the back without doing so; therefore, the only way to work on it is by pulling it out.

    BSD

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Barneveld, Netherlands
    Posts
    29
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: (B737) Hardware for the lower subpanels

    Thanks for the tips guys !!

    Other question, what shall I do? I can buy a LED strip with 60 led's per Meter or 100 per Meter.

    Regards,
    Raymond

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tholen, Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: (B737) Hardware for the lower subpanels

    Hi Raymond,

    I use the same dimmers, but i dont use a PC Power unit. I use Led Driver Power Supply Transformers 220 - 12V DC. Works perfect
    I have used these Ledstrips http://www.ebay.nl/itm/5M-500CM-Warm...item230ebfb248

    This is the result -
    IMG_2074.jpg
    IMG_2083.jpg

    On these photo's the Leds are far dimmed they could be much brighter.
    I like them

    Regards
    Corné

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Barneveld, Netherlands
    Posts
    29
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: (B737) Hardware for the lower subpanels

    Quote Originally Posted by Corne323 View Post
    Hi Raymond,

    I use the same dimmers, but i dont use a PC Power unit. I use Led Driver Power Supply Transformers 220 - 12V DC. Works perfect
    I have used these Ledstrips http://www.ebay.nl/itm/5M-500CM-Warm...item230ebfb248
    Just ordered the flightstrips from Ebay, the dimmers will follow shortly.

    Thanks for the tips!

    Regards,
    Raymond