Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 737 Overhead

  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    israel
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    737 Overhead

    Hey all,

    I am planning to start build a 737 overhead
    I have got two question to ask:
    I)Which USB device could i use to control the led's using appropriate software?
    II) According to my knowledge, servo could move only 180 degrees. How could i build the gauges?(most of them have range of more than 180deg)

    Thanks in advance for helping!

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    32
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Overhead

    hi, i suggest you have a good look around the forums here. a lot of these questions have been answered before . also take a look at this site, its a goldmine when it comes to building your own sim: www.737ng.co.uk

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie mrmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    167
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Overhead

    hi,

    I) I (would) use Arduino with ARCOM (http://x737cockpit.wordpress.com/arcom_by_mac), it's the cheapest (you need Prosim737 systems which is free for non-commercial use)

    II) take a look on ebay, I got my gears from there, you just need some plexiglass and a hot glue

    Marc
    "It is LEGEN... wait for it.... DARY" ARCOM_by_Marc

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict


    tiburon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    353
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Overhead



    Euh, last time I looked it was 300 euros for non-commercial use ?

    Martin

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    80
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Overhead

    Hi,

    Yes this forum has a lot of good information, it helped me a lot. I choosed to use a USB Output card from OC, it's very easy to use and program. I have bought the servos and card also from OC, again okay price and can be installed in less than an hour.

    I have placed some tutorials and examples on my site.

    Regards
    Claus
    www.737sim.dk

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie mrmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    167
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Overhead

    as far as I know 300 is Prosim737 displays, mcp, cdu but the systems is free for non commercial

    If you use OC it will be more expensive.

    1 USB Output card costs 55 - this can only control 64 LEDs

    You can control all LEDs in the overhead with one single interface: ARCOM with an AVR controller (Arduino). Either you just get the software I use for the MIP and look through it and adapt it to your needs, or I'll make you a customized version. For which I can also supply hardware (chips, PCB layout files and the AVR controller). However currently this only works with Prosim737.



    Marc
    "It is LEGEN... wait for it.... DARY" ARCOM_by_Marc