Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Leo Bodnar's BU0836X, How do you get the pots to work?

    I connected the pots to the X and Y axis. When I have a pot wired incorrectly, the computer will give me an error message. I do not have this error message so I am assuming everything is connected correctly. How do I test the inputs of the pots. My Game Controller software that comes with Microsoft is not identifying the pots. So in a nut shell how do I get them to work?

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Leo Bodnar's BU0836X, How do you get the pots to work?

    Hi Marcel,
    A few questions;
    1. Does Game Controller identify the BUO836x and are the switches working?.
    2. Pots have to be connected before you select the i/F being tested in Game Controller.
    3. If you have had the error when connecting pots, make sure pots are still ok as they may
    have been damaged.
    Let us know how you go.
    Les

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Leo Bodnar's BU0836X, How do you get the pots to work?

    The Game Controller identifies the BUO836x and the switches(50 switches because I am using two BUO836X circuit boards) are working.

    The pots are connected.

    I'm going to try some different pots, but I don't expect it help because nothing is getting through to the computer.

    There is eight analog(pots) connections. How do you test all these?

    Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it.

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Leo Bodnar's BU0836X, How do you get the pots to work?

    Hi,
    Have you tried connecting just one controller at a time. You could test all 8 analogue inputs in
    FSUIPC.
    Les

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Leo Bodnar's BU0836X, How do you get the pots to work?

    Hi Marcel........
    If the boards are showing up in the Windows Game Controllers and you say the buttons/switches are working,
    then there is nothing wrong with the boards.
    The issue is definately with the pots or how they are connected to the boards.
    Make sure you are connecting the GND INPUT & 5v correctly. Do you have a data sheet for the pots?
    It is highly unlikely that all your pots are damaged/suspect, so i would go back and look at the connections.
    Unplug the BU0836X boards from the PC, connect your pots to the board, then plug the BU0836X boards back into the USB
    sockets on the PC. If the pots are connected correctly, then Windows will see them on the board.
    Good luck mate and regardsw

    Ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Leo Bodnar's BU0836X, How do you get the pots to work?

    Note, I checked the pots with a multimeter and they are good. Does leo have software to check the POTs for the BUO836X?

    Do I have to load a driver to get them to work?

    The game controller software is not picking up the pots, nor is fsuipc.

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Leo Bodnar's BU0836X, How do you get the pots to work?

    ok I got it to work. I used my second BUO836X and it works fine. I don't know what I did, but I guess all that really matters is that it works.

    Thanks for all your help, I really appreciate it. Us simmers have got to stick together.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Leo Bodnar's BU0836X, How do you get the pots to work?

    Hello fellow builders,

    I just received mu BU0836X card and ran in the same problems. In the standard windows Game Controller wizard I can see that the pot is connected. But the position is 'jerky' and when I turn the pot it is all over the place. I tried different pots, checked my USB cable connections, different computers but it is not working correctly.

    I'm a bit disappointed in the card since I bought it as a plug and play.

    Does anyone has the golden tip for me t get it work properly?

    Thanks!

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member AndreNordheim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Posts
    87
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Leo Bodnar's BU0836X, How do you get the pots to work?

    Did you download and configure the configuration software on Leo's website? Although the card is plug and play for switches, pots are a bit different.

    http://www.leobodnar.com/products/BU...6_encoders.exe

    Quote Originally Posted by heliflightsim View Post
    Hello fellow builders,

    I just received mu BU0836X card and ran in the same problems. In the standard windows Game Controller wizard I can see that the pot is connected. But the position is 'jerky' and when I turn the pot it is all over the place. I tried different pots, checked my USB cable connections, different computers but it is not working correctly.

    I'm a bit disappointed in the card since I bought it as a plug and play.

    Does anyone has the golden tip for me t get it work properly?

    Thanks!

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Leo Bodnar's BU0836X, How do you get the pots to work?

    I did actually, but that is for the encoders. That's my next challenge. First I want to run the pots properly. Do you use 10Kohm pots? Would that make any difference? As I said, I tried different pots but all with the same results.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast