Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rotary encoder and BU0836X

    Hi

    I have a rotary encoder PS1010-20 (see pics) that I have been trying to connect to the 0836X but no luck It has 6 pins, 2 of which seem to be connected, I have no idea at all how to connect it! Any ideas please

    A

    ps101020-medium.jpgps101020_mitat.jpg

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    80
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder and BU0836X

    Hi

    I can't see the diagram. Nomally you have one ground and two +. Does it have a push button in the middle ?

    You can see on my site how i have connected "normal" encoders

    http://www.737sim.dk/page5.html

    Regards
    Claus

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder and BU0836X

    Hi,
    The front two pins are nothing but mechanical mounting pins. The back four pins are 1-2 is one switch and 3-4 are the other. You will have to download the Encoder utility from Leo's site to set the
    inputs you want to accept encoder inputs. This board by default is set to input ordinary switches.
    Connect one of each set of pins to a GND and the other to the input pin of the inputs you have set
    for encoders.
    The utility is just above where you purchase the card on Leo's site.
    Les

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder and BU0836X

    Thanks for the replies! Here is the diagram again, a little bigger this time

    ps101020_mitat-large.jpg

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder and BU0836X

    Hi,
    Im not sure what you need to know. I think the switch might be similar to a Knitter switch. These
    have two switches(1 st switch is 1 and 2, 2nd switch is 3 and 4). Turning the switch one way
    and one switch will operate,turning the other way, switch 2 will operate. So try and connect
    pin 1 of the switch to B1 and pin 2 of switch to terminal marked GND on your BU0836x card.
    Now take pin 3 of your switch and connect it to B2,pin 4 of your switch to GND terminal alongside
    B2 input.
    Now to check if its working you need to go into Game controllers in Control panel.
    Select the BU0386 card and see if any of the Buttons marked 1 to 32 flash as you turn it.
    One way one button should flash and another when turning it in the opposite direction.

    Not sure how you are trying to test it but a bit more information may help us help you
    further.
    Claus's link shows quite clearly how to connect it. But you may have to configure it as a
    encoder as i'm not sure exactly what type of switch it is.
    Let us know how u get on and may be able to help further.
    Les
    P.s
    Found out it is just two switches which close on each direction.
    So you need to first test your cards working in Control panel by
    shorting out say B1 and GND and a button should flash.
    now connect buttons as above and they shpuld work. Your board
    should be configured for switch inputs and not ENCODERS

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Auburn, WA
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder and BU0836X

    That is not a rotary encoder, it is a 'pulse switch'. As iwik has stated, (1-2) and (3-4) can be treated as two independent switches. One pair will give one pulse per detent when turned clockwise, and the other will give one pulse per detent when turned counter-clockwise. Attach it to your BU0836X as two separate switches.