Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Throttletek g throttle base

    I purchased the 737 g throttle from throttletek in November and have enjoyed it very much...easy to set up via fsuipc and works flawlessly. I have attached a photo of a base I am constructing for anyone that has purchased the throttle or is thinking about it this may help someone. Made out of MDF... need to make a couple of trim wheels...took me a couple of weeks to make!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict


    tiburon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    353
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttletek g throttle base

    That's brilliant ! I have one of those and I always thought it looked a bit narrow. Do you have more pictures of the construction ? How did you make the rounded sides ?

    Martin

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttletek g throttle base

    Hey Martin I wish I had taken some photos during construction but I didnt. I am not handy at all but this was very easy to build. For the curves I just cut two half circles out of MDF for each side ( total of 4 ) and put some wooden spacers between each to get the width right. Then I got some super thin hobby wood, cut the correct width and bent it over the curve and glued. Nothing to it. Lots of sanding. Also the local home improvement store sells a spray primer that matches the FDS panels almost exactly. Thats it...hope this helps!

  4. Thanks tiburon thanked for this post
  5. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie



    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    175
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttletek g throttle base

    Hi Keven,

    Nice work, looks very good. I'm at the stage of my home made 737NGX TQ build where I am thinking of building the pedestal for it. I'm finding it difficult to find the dimensions for one though, (seems Markus Pilot.com skips this one) lots of pictures but no dimensions I was wondering if you might share yours, distance from the floor up and the angles on the front so as the pedastal will fit snug to the FMC base.


    Do you happen to have the ID number of that paint primer you used?


    All the best,

    Ed
    www.737ngxca.com

  6. #5
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tholen, Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttletek g throttle base

    Hi there,

    Looks good, and a great idea to make it this way!
    The black and red buttons are the Parking brake is suppose?

    I hope you send us photos again when trimwheels are attached.

    Regards,

  7. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttletek g throttle base

    One button will be the parking brake and the other will probably be for pushback...

  8. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttletek g throttle base

    Ed sorry this took so long.The base is 10.75 in wide by 10.25 in deep. It stands 21 inches tall but if I did it again I would probably lower it an inch or two. I didnt build it to sit flush into the FMC base...simply a square shape. The primer is just a gray primer from Rust-Oleum...picked it up at home depot. Hope this helps!

  9. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie



    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    175
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttletek g throttle base

    Not a problem at all Kevin. I'm away for long stretches myself at times. Appreciate the info, every little bit helps. I had found a paint supplier who managed to find RAL 7011 in his data base and he mixed me a litre. It was called 'Iron Grey', (Can be seen on my web site) but to me it seems to dark compared with the pictures of the NG panels I see on the web. Problem is, on the web, the colours can be deceiving so it's a tricky thing to get the colour right.


    All the best and many thanks for your reply,

    Ed

  10. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttletek g throttle base

    hello just a quick question with the throttle from throttletek, does this throttle have a parking brake lever like the real thing?

  11. #10
    300+ Forum Addict


    tiburon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    353
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttletek g throttle base

    No, it doesn't

    Martin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast