Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    warrington
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    cnc mach 3 software help needed

    Hi I have taken the plunge and bought a cnc 3020 mini cnc with mach3 software but I am having difficulty importing my own images and converting to the g-code if there is anyone reading this can help me sort things out I would be very greatfull or if anyone can come to my house then I will be willing to pay expences as I need this working A.S.A.P

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cnc mach 3 software help needed

    What problems are you having with the import?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    warrington
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cnc mach 3 software help needed

    hi thanks for your reply first let me explain what i want it to do as i make fishing floats from balsa wood and all i need the machine to do is follow some simple drawings which i do ie zig zag in a stright line but the machine only needs to move in 2 directions up or down side to side now comes the big problem i take a photo with my camera of the diagram of the drawing i need the machine to create but i cannot import it across and convert it to g code in mach 3 cnc software if you can be of further help to me would it be better if i was to exchange email adresses so i could send photos of the machine i am using and the products i am wanting to make

    ps my email address is jd1462@hotmail.co.uk

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cnc mach 3 software help needed

    Hello Techmanager,

    Mach 3 is the software which controlles thes stepper motors of your cnc machine according to

    the commands provided in the gcode. It is not the software which converts images etc to gcode.

    The software you are looking for is "cut3d" from vectric software or similar programs.

    Cheers
    Andy

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie riche543's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    264
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cnc mach 3 software help needed

    You can use lazycam which is free for D/Load from artsoft (mach3) site , this will convert a dxf drawing into gcode so mach3 can control your cnc.
    There are a number of drawing / cad programs out there that allow you too save in dxf form, One great piece of software is aspire or vcarve pro from vetric this program has everything built in so you only need aspire or vcarve & mach3, (expensive though) also google sketchup will export too dxf but thats more for design drawing. some programs allow you trace from a bitmap or jpg.
    Good luck
    Riche.
    I Started with Nothing & ive still got loads left..

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    london england
    Posts
    195
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Red face Re: cnc mach 3 software help needed

    Hi Just my 2 Cents worth , i have Vectric Cut 2d which i bought as and entry level package . I've used this for all my cnc work so far and have to say bang for bucks its great value ( no i'm not their sales rep LOL i found the package very intuative and the easy to use, as most if not all my designs are geared around 2d work -- will get Vectric 3d further down the line but this package does the job for now , my only gripe and it is my personal gripe ( you cant expect all sing all dancing for that money ) is you cant directly create programs with auto tool changes i.e if you change cutter or drills , in saying that though there is a manual edit option , but i found it just as easy to create several tool paths and run them sequentially to make my parts, DXF PDF to 2d Profile quite easy as said above .. Cheers

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    lelystad netherlands
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cnc mach 3 software help needed

    hello all,

    I have bought myself a CNC router and I am ready to start with cutting my panels.
    I have some questions
    • What type of software to use? = I have Mach3
    • What type of drawing software to use? = I have coreldraw
    • What type of gcode converter I need to use ? i= I have DXF2GCODE b02


    regards john

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cnc mach 3 software help needed


  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member vikingsraven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    89
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cnc mach 3 software help needed

    I'm using inkscape for 2d work, there's s plugin you can get to convert the vector files to gcode, can't remember the name of hand .its something like gcodetool.
    Anyway this can be use for text, any font you have on your pc, pockets and lines
    It even generates multipass as you set your cutting depth.

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    lelystad netherlands
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cnc mach 3 software help needed

    hello all,

    I have found the perfect solution for my cnc router it is indeed Vcarve pro thats the software to use it has everything you need for your mach3 software to work with

    regards john

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast