Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Perth, Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Unhappy [SOLVED] Random digits on 7 segmen display Problem - Please, Please help

    Hello
    I have some serious problem with my 7 segment display with open cockpits usb expansion card and displays card
    Using FSX FSUIPC 4.7 sioc and contrlador programs. Running on Windows 7 64bit

    In the controlador program i am able to send digits to my 3 displays.. all works fine
    I can also successfully read offsets from fsuipc i.e heading, ISA etc (by that i mean the values in IOCP console show up exactly as they are in FSX cockpit)

    but when I link my variables do displays card the numbers appearing on actual led displays are tottaly random,
    for example when I set it to display Heading from MCP the numbers on led displays change as I change the heading in cockpit, but the digits appear random and do not reflect on the actual HDG value.

    The only thoughts I have is that the problem might be there because I am using Win 7, (is open cockpits stuff only for win XP???)
    also I have discovered that the 40 pin cable from displays to master card had few pins shorted internaly (hdd cable). I am using a new cable with no shorts now.

    Its my degree project, I am restoring original cockpit from Nimrod MK4 to work as glass cockpit teaching aid running with FSX, no glass software yet.. just trying to get the mcp to work
    Last edited by Dawid Szczeblewski; 02-18-2012 at 11:39 AM. Reason: Grammar

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    906
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Random digits on 7 segmen display Problem - Please, Please help

    Suggest you post your sioc code and also confirm that you have your display card jumpered as per the manual. Also could you advise how many displays you are driving and the number of 7 seg digits for each display

  3. Thanks Dawid Szczeblewski thanked for this post
  4. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Perth, Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Random digits on 7 segmen display Problem - Please, Please help

    Thanks for a quick responce
    The display card is indeed jumpered as per the manual
    Its a beginning for me and a testing phase so all i have is one display with 3 digits
    here is my code

    Var 0001, Link FSUIPC_IN, Offset $07E2, Length 2 // ISA

    Var 0002, Link FSUIPC_IN, Offset $0C4E, Length 2 // Nav1 course
    {
    V0003 = V0002
    }

    Var 0003, Link IOCARD_DISPLAY, Digit 0, Numbers 3

  5. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    906
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Random digits on 7 segmen display Problem - Please, Please help

    David

    Your sioc code looks ok to me. When you say that the display digits are random, are you getting individual digits that do not appear in the NAV 1 course or just the correct digits but in the wrong order?

    David

  6. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Perth, Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Random digits on 7 segmen display Problem - Please, Please help

    Digits that do not apear in NAV1 course.. heres an example of few values as i change course from lets say 200 to 205

    NAV1 in cockpit display 200 201 202 203 204 205
    LED's display 300 200 313 202 304 204

    every time i try the numbers are different

  7. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Perth, Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Random digits on 7 segmen display Problem - Please, Please help

    Just a thought..
    i bougt the ready, assembled cards so i assume that the PIC;s are already programmed?

  8. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    906
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Random digits on 7 segmen display Problem - Please, Please help

    Yes, still thinking

  9. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    906
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Random digits on 7 segmen display Problem - Please, Please help

    David

    Have you tried entering different values for var 0003 into the iocpconsole to see what happens on your displays. That should tell you whether the problem lies with hardware or software.

    David

  10. Thanks Dawid Szczeblewski thanked for this post
  11. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Perth, Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Random digits on 7 segmen display Problem - Please, Please help

    John
    Firstly, Thanks a lot for spending time on this
    I did what you adviced and it seems its the hardware.. brand new btw!!!
    I tried following values and here is what i got

    values i typed for var 0003 ==> and results on led display
    123 ==> 173
    456 ==> 446
    678 ==> 668
    345 ==> 344

    totaly random
    the question is how do i distinguish what is malfunctioning, the displays, the usb expansion or the masters card :/
    looks like along the way its all getting corrupted by hardware
    there is a bunch of IC's on master board which convert binary coded decimal to decimal... maybe these are the culprit?
    i am clueless... and its all new straight from the box :/

    on the contrary when i fir up the controlador software it seems to work, there is one small thing which may be a glitch. i dont know
    In controlador, when i chose the display and then the digit that i want to write to it, when i click "ok" most of the times a wrong digit is displayed ( like 5 instead of six or six instead of seven) when i click ok once again a correct didgit is always displayed, on correct display

  12. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Perth, Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Random digits on 7 segmen display Problem - Please, Please help

    i just tried a litle script which increases the brightness of displays as it counts up and then it counts back down and decreases the brightness...
    the brightness changes are correct, numbers diplayed are wrong again

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast