Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    DIGITAL PHOTO FRAMES

    Hi.

    Has anyone considered utilising digital photo frames as monitors? Clearly if this was possible, it would be for small instrument displays, not outside views!! I don't know anything about these things, and I apologise if I am just wasting time here!
    They are cheap, and come in handy sizes.

    Cheers.

    TONY, Plymouth UK

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    227
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: DIGITAL PHOTO FRAMES

    Hi Tony,
    Do they have a VGA or S-video connector?

    If yes then it must be possible to use them

    Best regards

    Jan Geurtsen

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie Goldmember's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    252
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: DIGITAL PHOTO FRAMES

    I don't think they have a standard connector for vga so you'll have to take out the bare panel and see if it has a standard industrial connection. This is mostly a flat cable and it goes from the video hardware to the panel. In a normal monitor this hardware has the vga or hdmi connector, in the photo frame it will get its data from a little program that rotates the photos.

    You could take apart an old 'big' flatscreen monitor that has the same resolution as the photo frame. Then see if you can change the 17", 18" panel or whatever that monitor has for the one from the photo frame by connecting it to the flat cable that comes from video hardware. It worked for me by swapping an 18" with a 15,6" from a notebook.
    Arjen
    -----
    "There are only two things I can't stand in this world. People who are intolerant of other people's cultures... and the Dutch." (Nigel Powers in Goldmember)

  4. #4

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie Cessna172sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ylöjärvi, Finland
    Posts
    171
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: DIGITAL PHOTO FRAMES

    Hi,

    We are using digital Photo frame (plug n play USB) in our sim for avionics:
    http://www.lentosimulaattori.1g.fi/k...-+Spring+2010/

    http://www.lentosimulaattori.1g.fi/k...l%29/kuva9.JPG

    Works really well in FS2004 with undocked, cropped GNS Waas avionics software.

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: DIGITAL PHOTO FRAMES

    Quote Originally Posted by Vectro View Post



    We are using digital Photo frame (plug n play USB) in our sim for avionics:
    http://www.lentosimulaattori.1g.fi/k...-+Spring+2010/

    http://www.lentosimulaattori.1g.fi/k...l%29/kuva9.JPG

    Works really well in FS2004 with undocked, cropped GNS Waas avionics software.
    Hi Vectro.

    Your idea is fantastic, and perfect for flightsim!
    I am not too technical, but I have a digital photo frame that in normal use, requires a memory stick (with photo's on it) plugged into a standard usb socket on the back. Is this the sort that you are using? If it is, can you explain to me how it is connected to the computer? I presume that a peice of hardware needs to be connected between the frame and the graphics card? Alternatively, is there another way to send graphics to the frame?

    If this is feasable, can you tell me which frame(s) you are using? There are a large numer on the list.

    Here's hoping I can use this idea.

    Thanks.

    TONY.

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: DIGITAL PHOTO FRAMES

    Quote Originally Posted by Goldmember View Post
    I don't think they have a standard connector for vga so you'll have to take out the bare panel and see if it has a standard industrial connection. This is mostly a flat cable and it goes from the video hardware to the panel. In a normal monitor this hardware has the vga or hdmi connector, in the photo frame it will get its data from a little program that rotates the photos.

    You could take apart an old 'big' flatscreen monitor that has the same resolution as the photo frame. Then see if you can change the 17", 18" panel or whatever that monitor has for the one from the photo frame by connecting it to the flat cable that comes from video hardware. It worked for me by swapping an 18" with a 15,6" from a notebook.
    Thanks Arjen.

    I am ripping apart a monitor to have a look see! I am also looking at the possibility of using digital photo frames (see Vectro).

    From you photo, you look as though you have just done the best landing EVER!!

    TONY

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie Cessna172sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ylöjärvi, Finland
    Posts
    171
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: DIGITAL PHOTO FRAMES

    Quote Originally Posted by manhattan View Post
    Hi Vectro.

    Your idea is fantastic, and perfect for flightsim!
    I am not too technical, but I have a digital photo frame that in normal use, requires a memory stick (with photo's on it) plugged into a standard usb socket on the back. Is this the sort that you are using? If it is, can you explain to me how it is connected to the computer? I presume that a peice of hardware needs to be connected between the frame and the graphics card? Alternatively, is there another way to send graphics to the frame?

    If this is feasable, can you tell me which frame(s) you are using? There are a large numer on the list.

    Here's hoping I can use this idea.

    Thanks.

    TONY.
    Hi,
    The display is Samsung SyncMaster U70 - 7" Photo Frame. It's 100% USB and plug n play. In Windows it appears as a new display so you can undock any windows in FS9 or FSX and drag them to the screen. That's it. We use Open Cockpits electronics to control the push buttons and rotary encoders. The software is Reality XP GNS Waas:
    http://www.reality-xp.com/flightsim/gns530/index.html

    The most importantly, in Samsung it is possible to tilt the picture sideways so it fits perfectly in the original aviation rack width. You don't have to connect the display in the display adapter card. It get's its power and picture via USB.

    BR,
    OP

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie Goldmember's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    252
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: DIGITAL PHOTO FRAMES

    I just found a plug & play 7" USB monitor:

    Krämer 7 inch USB TFT V700

    € 119 at Conrad Electronics

    Maybe this is far easier. A little more expensive than a photo frame but ready to use.
    Last edited by Goldmember; 02-15-2012 at 08:28 AM. Reason: typo
    Arjen
    -----
    "There are only two things I can't stand in this world. People who are intolerant of other people's cultures... and the Dutch." (Nigel Powers in Goldmember)

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie Goldmember's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    252
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: DIGITAL PHOTO FRAMES

    Quote Originally Posted by manhattan View Post

    From you photo, you look as though you have just done the best landing EVER!!
    Actually that was at 1000ft in a soar plane

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCe3ZSaDCtQ
    Arjen
    -----
    "There are only two things I can't stand in this world. People who are intolerant of other people's cultures... and the Dutch." (Nigel Powers in Goldmember)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast