Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    BACKGROUND SEPERATE FROM ATC!

    Here I am again asking (begging) for help as to how to seperate or modify the two types of audio (atc and others) in FS9?
    Normal listening to atc, means accepting blasting levels from engines etc etc. I know there are sliders to alter levels, but background has to be so low (so as not to drown out atc) that it becomes pointless! Seperating them (somehow) is required.
    Could a networked computer or a second sound card be the answer? Could taking up domino's help**&//^^/##\%

    FS10 has the answer, but I use many multiple monitors - and it dont like it!!!

    Here's hoping,

    TONY, Plymouth UK

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BACKGROUND SEPERATE FROM ATC!

    Hi Tony,
    The only thing i can think of it the Goflight GF-ATC module. It filters out the engine noise to give only atc audio with realistic radio sound. It has no ability to hear some engine noises however. If this is wanted you would have to get the general audio maybe from another card.
    Mutleys Hangar has a review of the module. I dont think its that easy in FS9.
    Les

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict notgotaclue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    351
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BACKGROUND SEPERATE FROM ATC!

    Hi,
    I use Radar Contact over a network.
    Much more satisfying having ONLY atc coming out of your headphones.
    Allan.

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member CWFlightsim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BACKGROUND SEPERATE FROM ATC!

    Gidday,
    In FS9 there is no physical way of separating sounds.... so... I got my old pro-logic stereo amp and ran 3 speakers, 2 side speakers for engines and the centre speaker automatically decodes the ATC into the centre speaker.

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BACKGROUND SEPERATE FROM ATC!

    Quote Originally Posted by notgotaclue View Post
    Hi,
    I use Radar Contact over a network.
    Much more satisfying having ONLY atc coming out of your headphones.
    Allan.
    Hi Allan.
    Sorry to come back to you yet again! Can you explain in greater detail how this works? Where is RC installed - on the main PC or the client? How does audio from FS find it's way through RC as atc only?

    Thanks again.

    TONY Plymouth UK

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BACKGROUND SEPERATE FROM ATC!

    Quote Originally Posted by CWFlightsim View Post
    Gidday,
    In FS9 there is no physical way of separating sounds.... so... I got my old pro-logic stereo amp and ran 3 speakers, 2 side speakers for engines and the centre speaker automatically decodes the ATC into the centre speaker.
    Hi there.

    Can you explain more clearly, how a stereo amp can automatically decode (seperate) atc from other sounds - given that they are all on the same signal feed?
    I thought that one signal carrying ALL sounds cannot be seperated this way?

    Many thanks.

    TONY.

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict notgotaclue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    351
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BACKGROUND SEPERATE FROM ATC!

    Quote Originally Posted by manhattan View Post
    Hi Allan.
    Sorry to come back to you yet again! Can you explain in greater detail how this works? Where is RC installed - on the main PC or the client? How does audio from FS find it's way through RC as atc only?

    Thanks again.

    TONY Plymouth UK
    Hi,
    I got it working quite a while ago and as I am not too hot with computers I cannot truly remember.
    I THINK it was pretty easy and I set it up like this.
    Install Radar Contact on the client pc and connect to FSX using Widefs.
    You will need to tell radar contact where FSX is located through the network.
    The way I start it is to run Widefs and make sure that is connected.
    Then load the flight plan into Radar Contact and click start.
    On the Main PC you will see the RC menus to call for clearance, Atis etc..... When you call for clearance (or whatever) then the sound will come from the client pc, if you then set up headphones on the client pc it is very realsitic and the sounds for ATC come through your headphones, whilst the engine etc.. will come from the main pc.
    As I said I am not great with 'puters and I have probably missed a step along the way - so hopefully someone else will chip in with further advice.
    Allan.
    Me attempting the Kai Tak Approcach
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9u36LhSnyw0

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BACKGROUND SEPERATE FROM ATC!

    Try indievolume.

    Welcome to IndieVolume! | IndieVolume

    Every application can have separate volume level, independent of other applications volume level.


    For example, you are listening to the music, and suddenly some application LOUDLY shouts or dings with IndieVolume you just configure shouting application to sound at different (lower) volume compared with the volume at which player application is playing music.



    Every application can be (forcibly) muted independent of other applications.


    For example, you have occasionally visited one of that websites, that play horrible sounds in the background using IndieVolume you can just mute web browser not to output any sound at all. Or you like to play flash games and would like to control volume level IndieVolume can do that as well.


    Two or more soundcards, but applications play only on one.


    For example, if you have built-in sound card and SoundBlaster as second sound card, or USB/Bluetooth headset, you can configure certain applications play on built-in sound card, and others play on SoundBlaster or USB headset, fully employing your audio hardware.



    Mute all applications when critical application plays a sound.


    For example, you are having business chat in Skype or GoogleTalk, and suddenly some application plays a sound with IndieVolume, you can mark Skype/GoogleTalk as "exclusive", so none application would sound during your Skype/GoogleTalk calls.

  9. Thanks Geremy Britton thanked for this post
  10. #9
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BACKGROUND SEPERATE FROM ATC!

    Hi.
    The ATC as distinct from other aircraft sounds does not constitute an "application", and all sounds are bound up in the single audio output coming from the sound card. Because of this, seperation is virtually impossible - even using a graphics equaliser to filter out unwanted sounds.
    Indie Volume seems to be an audio mixer that receives different feeds to be mixed and processed in the normal way? FS has only ONE feed from the sound card carrying ALL sounds.
    Having said this, your further comments wiuld be of interest.

    Thanks.

    TONY Plymouth UK

  11. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BACKGROUND SEPERATE FROM ATC!

    Quote Originally Posted by manhattan View Post
    Where is RC installed - on the main PC or the client? How does audio from FS find it's way through RC as atc only?
    If you use a third party program for ATC, instead of the terrible default FS ATC, then the sound comes from that program, not from FS. So there is no need for sound to be routed from FS through it!

    RC runs quite happily on a networked PC. The menu can appear on the FS screen, or, via a little program called ShowText, on any screen on any PC in the network. The sound can be routed to a headset, for eample, because you'd connect the headset to the Networked PC which is running RC.

    You can do the same sort of thing with ProATC/X, though not (yet) move its menu off the PC screen.

    Regards
    Pete

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast