Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Aerosim Solutions 3D machining

    Hi all,
    After the expansion of my machine to 4 axis I thought it was time to try out some 3D machining. I made this small trim wheel by making two halves with a 3D file and then gluing them together. The process is a bit slow but I'm pleased with the result. This piece will be fitted to one of the fantastic GA panels made by Southern Cross Flight Panels, check them out at www.scflightpanels.com.au
    Trim-wheel-001.jpg
    Trim-wheel-002.jpg
    Trim-wheel-003.jpg


    Cheers Gwyn
    Last edited by Westozy; 02-07-2012 at 02:37 AM.

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  2. Thanks W9XE/Project777, AK Mongo thanked for this post
  3. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosim Solutions 3D machining

    Gwynn,

    That is outstanding! Will these be available for purchase separately? I would love to get something like this for my rudder trim wheel. Regardless, thanks for sharing, and showing us the panel site.

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  4. #3
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosim Solutions 3D machining

    Hi Gwynn,

    2 questions.
    What material do you use and do you have a ball screw spindle at the z axis of your machine? Here is my latest work.


    I am thinking about switching to cut3d from vectric to do 3d work but i fear that the z axis will get too hot without a ball screw spindle. My machine has trapez spindle...

    Cheers
    Andy

  5. Thanks W9XE/Project777 thanked for this post
  6. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosim Solutions 3D machining

    Hi guys,
    Reid - these trim wheels for Southern Cross flight panels are OD 83mm x 15mm wide, the bore is 6mm for potentiometers. I will probably switch to casting these in resin when I have machined the molds but I can make any size obviously!

    Andy - I do have a ball screws on all 3 axis, there has never been any heating issues with the Z. For this cut I used 500mm/min in X & Y and 100mm/min, I think Z could have been a lot faster maybe 250mm/min. My machine is quite small at 350mm x 210mm and business is rapidly outgrowing it, I am helping a mate build a 1200mm x 1200mm CNC machine and he will be doing some work for me later. The small one will be kept for small parts and engraving.

    Cheers Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  7. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie riche543's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    264
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosim Solutions 3D machining

    Great Work Gwyn , as always
    Nice...
    I Started with Nothing & ive still got loads left..

  8. Thanks Westozy thanked for this post
  9. #6
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosim Solutions 3D machining

    Hey Andy, which button did you press on Mach 3 to get the full screen tool position screen? I haven't seen that before, (not that I've looked for it!)

    Cheers Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  10. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie riche543's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    264
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosim Solutions 3D machining

    Could be wrong, but dont think that full screen image is the toolpath from mach3 but from another software
    If it is let us know andy
    Cheers.
    I Started with Nothing & ive still got loads left..

  11. #8
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosim Solutions 3D machining

    Hi, this is Autocad Screen. Not mach 3.....

    Cheers
    Andy