Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    SIOC Help/Question

    Is it possible to use a potentiometer using the 'Rotate' command in SIOC? I have a VOR/ILS gauge that uses a continuous turnu pot for the OBS adjustment. I would like it to output OBS info to FSX.
    Thanks,
    Rob

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,222
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC Help/Question

    No, the ROTATE command in SIOC is to be used together with a Rotary Encoder.

    Nico

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC Help/Question

    I figured it out, works great! I just multiplied the pot input which is 0-255 by 1.411 which gives ma 0-360 output. Works the Nav 1 obs perfectly.

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,222
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC Help/Question

    Note that with a Rotary Encoder you can define an acceleration factor. This gives you greater in- and decreasements when turning faster.
    Don't think you can do that with a potentiometer, or at least not as easy.

    Nico
    Last edited by kiek; 02-07-2012 at 04:38 AM.

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie pdpo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    280
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC Help/Question

    my experience with a pot meter input is that it tends to jump from one value to another... I dont think you want that for the obs value. you want a steady heading of 45 degrees (for example) not a heading bug which constantly goes from 43 to 44 to 45 to 46 to 47 to 44 ... you know what I mean.
    I agree with Nico, you should use rotary switch ... much more easy to work with ... and inherently stable output ...
    Also , when you will multiply the value from the pot you will increase this instability.

    Anyway, if someone has used the analogue inputs from usb expansion card and his values dont change constantly , please let me know.... I have tried a lot already but cant get them stable to one value.

    PS : dont be fooled by the values shown in the controlador program. They have done something there in software to show
    them more stable I guess because with that program my pot values dont change when i dont touch the pot. However, leaving the hardware as it is and stating up the SIOC, the values are not stable anymore and hoover around the expected value.

    Greetz Peter
    FS9+PM+AST+opencockpits

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC Help/Question

    I agree a rotary encoder would be best but in my case, I am using a real gauge and it has pot in it already. So far I haven't noticed in jumping around of the OBS, maybe a high quality pot is a fix for your jumping issue? I know when it comes to potentiometers, you get what you pay for! Anything less then 15-20ea is junk. Just from my limited expierence.
    Rob