Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Rebuild!

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    35
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rebuild!

    Hello all!

    I've taken a slight change in direction with the sim and have dismantled to C172 to rebuild it as a C182T.

    I've started a blog to document the build: http://al3x-foster.tumblr.com/

    As I type this I am sat in front of a laser cutter which is busy chopping me some G1000 components out of 4mm acrylic. I will post some pictures to both here and the blog later on this evening.

    Please feel free to follow my tumblr page, I've only got one follower at the moment and thats the GF!

    Pics shortly.....

    Alex

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rebuild!

    Just saw the site, looking good sir!

    What are you planning on doing with your old steam gauges?

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  3. #3
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rebuild!

    What are you planning on doing with your old steam gauges?
    I don't think he had any, it was just PM I think!

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    35
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rebuild!

    Quote Originally Posted by AK Mongo View Post
    Just saw the site, looking good sir!

    What are you planning on doing with your old steam gauges?

    Reid
    I had a panel.cfg that used a mix of flight1 172 standard gauges and Reality XP's flight line T. I then switched to gauges from the gauge factory running over the network.

    I have the monitor and the associated part of the MIP going spare. If anybody wants it then PM me for more details!

    Alex

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rebuild!

    Sorry, they looked mechanical from the photo. Nice job on it!

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Newnan, Ga.
    Posts
    65
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rebuild!

    Quote Originally Posted by chicofrostie View Post
    I had a panel.cfg that used a mix of flight1 172 standard gauges and Reality XP's flight line T. I then switched to gauges from the gauge factory running over the network.

    I have the monitor and the associated part of the MIP going spare. If anybody wants it then PM me for more details!

    Alex
    Alex,

    Those G1000 panels look great. I am working on a panel that will be similiar to the g1000 configuration as far as the button layout goes. What size LCDs are you using?

    Have you determined what buttons and switches you are going to use?

    Jake

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    35
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rebuild!

    Hi Jake

    I'm having my MIP cut on Thursday and there will be two 15" monitors mounted behind it. My MIP has two apertures which are the same dimension as the G1000. I won't be mounting the G1000 hardware until I've got the wired up and working on the test bed. By that time I might have invested in two 10" LCDS. Its all going to be down the the logistics of mounting my panels over the two 15's.

    I'm currently researching switches and buttons. I have designed the current setup around using 10mmx10mm tactile switches but its only a quick job to adapt my design for different equipment.

    I have updated the blog with a couple of new pictures!

    Alex

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Newnan, Ga.
    Posts
    65
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rebuild!

    Quote Originally Posted by chicofrostie View Post
    Hi Jake

    I'm having my MIP cut on Thursday and there will be two 15" monitors mounted behind it. My MIP has two apertures which are the same dimension as the G1000. I won't be mounting the G1000 hardware until I've got the wired up and working on the test bed. By that time I might have invested in two 10" LCDS. Its all going to be down the the logistics of mounting my panels over the two 15's.

    I'm currently researching switches and buttons. I have designed the current setup around using 10mmx10mm tactile switches but its only a quick job to adapt my design for different equipment.
    I have updated the blog with a couple of new pictures!

    Alex
    I am still looking for the lcd panels. I have a 17 inch standard aspect that I plan to use for the MFD. I took measurements off a 20" and 18.5" widescreen but feel they are still to big for the PFD. Maybe a 17 inch widescreen will work. Trying to watch the budget and the smaller the screen the more expensive it becomes.

    Once I get the switches along with the screen then I will draw out my panel and have them cut. Might just cut it myself.

    Jake

  9. #9
    Warren fsaviator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Dupont, WA
    Posts
    506
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rebuild!

    Quote Originally Posted by flyinjake View Post
    I am still looking for the lcd panels. I have a 17 inch standard aspect that I plan to use for the MFD. I took measurements off a 20" and 18.5" widescreen but feel they are still to big for the PFD. Maybe a 17 inch widescreen will work. Trying to watch the budget and the smaller the screen the more expensive it becomes.

    Jake
    Jake, you might consider craigslist for your monitors... I've managed to get a Dell 15" and two Acer 17" LCDs for a total of about $100 from my local craigslist. Just a thought.

    Warren

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    35
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rebuild!

    Some new updates are up on the blog. I've messed up slightly with measurements and I've ended up with the test fit of a 15" monitor being out by about an inch (above the MIP). I've got two options at this point, adjust the MIP to suit or try to find smaller monitors at a reasonable price!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast