Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Executive Vice President, Administration, MyCockpit, Inc.
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    287
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    60inch Plasma Television

    Dear Friends

    I am looking at purchasing 60 inch plasma television for use with FSX and have a few questions for which I need guidance:

    A. If I decide to use 3 60 inch plasma television would I be able to use TH2Go matrox to run at 1080p? The reason I ask this question since I understand the display rate of plasma television is substantially higher than 60hz which I believe is the limit to render HD. If TH2GO is not an option what could be solution for use with 3 monitors on nvidia graphics card.

    B. the other option I am thinking is use of 4 60 inch Plasma television to run 1080p. What would be the way to achieve wrap around view? Would matrox again be the only solution? Would there be any issues?

    Any help would be appreciated.
    Regards
    Vybhav


  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie


    jonesthesoftware's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    aberdare, south wales UK
    Posts
    276
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 60inch Plasma Television

    Hi
    you can get some suitable answers from this thread
    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/show...079#post128079

    regards
    geoff

  3. #3
    Executive Vice President, Administration, MyCockpit, Inc.
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    287
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 60inch Plasma Television

    Thanks for the updates really useful. Any idea on 4 monitor setup?
    Regards
    Vybhav


  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Neil Hewitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    211
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 60inch Plasma Television

    Just to check - do you definitely mean plasma, or do you just mean large flat screen TV, ie LCD / LED technology? Because it's worth pointing out that plasmas are very heavy, a 60" plasma will be extremely heavy, and 4 of them will probably weigh twice as much as the rest of your sim put together. You'll need some heavy-duty bracketing to keep those in place.

    NH

  5. #5
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 60inch Plasma Television

    And to add to "neilh's" comment. LCD / LED technology has come a long ways. Picture qualities are amazing, contrast ratio is out of this world, well almost....

    LG will be making available soon, if not already, a 60" 1/4 inch deep.

    Matt Olieman

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 60inch Plasma Television

    I have always liked plasma over lcd of any variety, either CC or led backlit. If I had to have one or the other for my critical movie watching it would be a nice plasma.

    Now, as far as they go for this kind of applications I would go with LCD myself. LED lcd's are thin and look very good.

    Today I viewed dcs a10 and iracing on a few 55" hdtv's. They looked fine on the LCD but as I expected I was distracted by the noise of the pixels on the plasma. It's a noise that can be seen close up but not at a distance you would normally watch TV. Unfortunately it is visible at a distance that I would use it for a monitor in a sim pit and entirely ruins it for me as far as simming goes.