Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member frazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Lan, Sweden
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Help with a real EGT indicator

    Hi!

    I need help with a EGT indicator that I've bought of eBay.

    I've opened it to find out that the pins F and J are backlight, but I have no idea what the rest of the pins does and what "data" is needed to get the needle to move.

    Any ideas?

    bild 1.jpg
    bild 3.jpg
    bild 4.jpg

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie


    jonesthesoftware's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    aberdare, south wales UK
    Posts
    276
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with a real EGT indicator

    You could try contacting the manufacturer ....website below Explain that it is for home use only though! Try different departments as some people are more helpful than others, but that's human nature.

    http://www.rogersonkratos.com/support.html

    regards
    geoff

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member frazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Lan, Sweden
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with a real EGT indicator

    Quote Originally Posted by jonesthesoftware View Post
    You could try contacting the manufacturer ....website below Explain that it is for home use only though! Try different departments as some people are more helpful than others, but that's human nature.
    That's a good idea, definetly worth a try!

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member frazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Lan, Sweden
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with a real EGT indicator

    Quote Originally Posted by jonesthesoftware View Post
    You could try contacting the manufacturer ....website below Explain that it is for home use only though! Try different departments as some people are more helpful than others, but that's human nature.
    I've got an answer quite quickly:
    The cost for an issue of a CMM for this part is $500.00.
    I don't even know whan a CMM is, but I don't think I want to pay 500$ to find out

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with a real EGT indicator

    For what application are you using the gauge for? You might want to consider driving the needle with an RC servo and gutting out the rest of the electronics...

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member frazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Lan, Sweden
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with a real EGT indicator

    Quote Originally Posted by mach7 View Post
    For what application are you using the gauge for? You might want to consider driving the needle with an RC servo and gutting out the rest of the electronics...
    It's to be used as an EGT indicator for the APU in the overhead of a 737 simulator. I would really like to drive it using the original motor, beats RC-servo movement by miles.

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with a real EGT indicator

    That gauge requires Mv dc to function as it hooks directly to the EGT thermocouple. You could drive it using a servo to turn a potentiometer and a voltage divider with a few cap's to smooth out the output.

    Rob

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member frazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Lan, Sweden
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with a real EGT indicator

    Quote Originally Posted by 737NUT View Post
    That gauge requires Mv dc to function as it hooks directly to the EGT thermocouple. You could drive it using a servo to turn a potentiometer and a voltage divider with a few cap's to smooth out the output.
    Thanks for the input, that was what I suspected. Now the problem is to know what pins to use in the cannon connector at the back.

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie


    jonesthesoftware's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    aberdare, south wales UK
    Posts
    276
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with a real EGT indicator

    to protect your instrument buy a cheap K type thermocouple ( lots of suppliers sell 1 metre ready made wire type versions very cheaply). Put the end which has the wires soldered together into a flame from a cigarette lighter or gas flame of the cooker(stove) This will generate the correct amount of millivolts but at such a low current it will not destroy any circuits if it is connected to the wrong pins. Use this thermocouple to test each pair of pins in the connector until the EGT reads 400-500 degrees. Voila you've found your pins. You may need to do the exercise twice with the connections reversed to get the right polarity. I'm assuming the EGT instrument does not require an external power supply for internal amplifiers! Hopefully the instrument indicates directly from the millivolts of the T/C
    kind regards
    geoff

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with a real EGT indicator

    If you take it apart it is is to tell which ones are the correct ones. Most of the pins are not even used. In the EGT's I have had just 4-6 pins were used. Remember the polarity must be correct as stated.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast