Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Slow encoder count

    I am going to mount my CRS / HDG / NAV and several other encoders to my cockpit.
    I use Leo's BU0386X for the inputs and FSUIPC as an interface.
    But the up/down count in the display when the encoder is turned is very slow and unstable, I've tried all settings.
    The encoders that i use will not work with OpenCockpit cards.
    Could a better solution bee to read the button function from the BU0386 and manage it through SIOC, or are there better solutions.

    What have you done to solve this problem ?
    Sincerely,

    Claus


  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slow encoder count

    Check out the fsuipc support forum. Pete Dowson has created a Lua script that allows fast/slow encoder differentiation for Leo's card. Tom_G from here was instrumental in getting it to work, and may be able to answer questions.

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slow encoder count

    Hi Claus,
    here is the thread Reid was refering to.

    http://forum.simflight.com/topic/682...r-input-speed/

    Les

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slow encoder count

    Quote Originally Posted by iwik View Post
    Hi Claus,
    here is the thread Reid was refering to.

    http://forum.simflight.com/topic/682...r-input-speed/

    Les
    Thanks Les. I was posting from my phone, so it wasn't easy to add.

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie


    jonesthesoftware's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    aberdare, south wales UK
    Posts
    276
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slow encoder count

    Hi
    WHat encoders are you using? It's possible to reflash the Open cockpits PIC chip to enable the use of Elma E37 encoders and obviously it already supports the CTS288 type.
    regards
    geoff

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slow encoder count

    The lua script works real well, but setting the timing can take a few attempts as it is influenced by personal preference and I suspect to some degree by pc peformance when loaded down running flight sim. Claus, if you have any questions Pete is a great resource and I would be glad to help as well.
    https://www.facebook.com/mycessnasim PC: Intel Core i7 Haswell @ 3.8GHz, 8Gb Ram, Win 7 64Bit, dual SSDs, GeFroce 780 SIM: FSX w/Aclrtn Pk, FSUIPC4, ASN, UTX, GEX, REX 4

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slow encoder count

    Thank you for the answers.

    I will download LUA and try to get it to work with my encoders.
    Lua is new to me but have heard little about its benefits.
    Sincerely,

    Claus


  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slow encoder count

    Quote Originally Posted by verticallimit View Post
    Thank you for the answers.

    I will download LUA and try to get it to work with my encoders.
    Lua is new to me but have heard little about its benefits.
    If you are already using FSUIPC then there's nothing more to download. All that's needed is to create the lua script based on the thread in Pete's forum. If you need FSUIPC then you can download and purchase it from his web site http://www.schiratti.com/dowson.html
    https://www.facebook.com/mycessnasim PC: Intel Core i7 Haswell @ 3.8GHz, 8Gb Ram, Win 7 64Bit, dual SSDs, GeFroce 780 SIM: FSX w/Aclrtn Pk, FSUIPC4, ASN, UTX, GEX, REX 4

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slow encoder count

    Hi.
    I just updated my FSUIPC and downloaded the HID scanner. It seems that in LUA examples there are the "rotaries" and this is identical to the one mentioned in the thread, I will look into it later.

    But how can I find the device number, do I count from device 0 and down to BU836 device ?

    Result from HIDscan:

    Device at "\\?\hid#vid_1dd2&pid_1001#6&96333b4&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}"
    Vendor=1DD2, Product=1001 (Version 1.35)
    Manufacturer= Leo Bodnar
    Product= BU0836X Interface
    Serial Number= B18216
    Usage Page: 1
    Input Report Byte Length: 6
    Output Report Byte Length: 0
    Feature Report Byte Length: 18
    Number of Link Collection Nodes: 3
    Number of Input Button Caps: 1
    Number of InputValue Caps: 1
    Number of InputData Indices: 33
    Number of Output Button Caps: 0
    Number of Output Value Caps: 0
    Number of Output Data Indices: 0
    Number of Feature Button Caps: 0
    Number of Feature Value Caps: 1
    Number of Feature Data Indices: 1
    Buttons range 1 -> 32 at indices 0 -> 31
    Value POV at index 32, range 0 -> 7, using 4 bits
    Sincerely,

    Claus


  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slow encoder count

    Quote Originally Posted by verticallimit View Post
    . . . But how can I find the device number, do I count from device 0 and down to BU836 device ? . . .
    One easy way to confirm the device number is to look at the FSUIPC config file in the [Buttons] section. If you've assigned a button function to your bodnar card it will be listed there. For example if you had assigned the pan reset function to button 37 it might look like this 10=U0,36,C66415,0 ; PAN_RESET_COCKPIT the U0 in that example tells me that the bodnar card is device 0 in this case.
    https://www.facebook.com/mycessnasim PC: Intel Core i7 Haswell @ 3.8GHz, 8Gb Ram, Win 7 64Bit, dual SSDs, GeFroce 780 SIM: FSX w/Aclrtn Pk, FSUIPC4, ASN, UTX, GEX, REX 4

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread