Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Portsmouth UK
    Posts
    50
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Master card & Display card connectivity problem

    Hello,

    I have a master card connected to a USB expansion card. It has a tested 5V supply.

    When I connect a display card I get inputs 001 & 002 showing up in controlador.exe without any seven segment displays connected. If I move the display card to the adjacent 40 pin connector I get inputs 37 & 38 shownig up.

    The same thing happens if I use a different ribbon cable and/or display card.

    I am concluding that both display cards have a problem but it seems unlikely they would both have the same problem unless it is a batch issue.

    Any ideas on what the problem might be?

    I have posted at Opencokpits too.

    Thanks in advance.

    My regards

    Dave

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card & Display card connectivity problem

    Dave

    I do not know why you are connecting the display card cable into different 40pin connectors
    There is only one 40pin connector for the displays ribbon and that is J1, the one nearest the power input connector

    David

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card & Display card connectivity problem

    Dave,

    I had the same thought as David.

    Look here: http://personales.ya.com/micabina737...ard/test2i.htm
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Portsmouth UK
    Posts
    50
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card & Display card connectivity problem

    Hi David & Perik,

    Thanks for taking time to reply and for your suggestion.

    I believe you can connect up to four display cards to one master card. How do I connect the second, third and fourth?

    I'll go and try J1 now and see what happens.

    Thanks again.

    Dave

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card & Display card connectivity problem

    Dave

    You should really fully read the respective manuals else there could be trouble ahead
    Up to 4 display cards can be connected onto one 40 way ribbon cable plugged into J1. Each display card should then have its jumper set to denote whether it is card 1 - 4. Its all in the manuals here

    http://www.opencockpits.com/catalog/..._id=37&cPath=1

    David

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Portsmouth UK
    Posts
    50
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card & Display card connectivity problem

    Hi David,

    Believe it or not I did read the manual

    I interpreted the configuration as being one card per 40 pin outlet.

    Anyway, tried J1 and all diplays have lit up.

    Thanks to you and Perik for your help. That's another tiny step forward.

    Dave

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Master card & Display card connectivity problem

    Dave

    Alls well that ends well

    Regards

    David