Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Using a 40" Plasma for my visuals?

    Hi All,

    I have just seen a 40" plasma at my local recycle store, and its selling for a very cheap price because the sides have scuffs (but you wont see the sides if its in my sim).

    The width of the plasma is about the same as my sim.....

    Should I go for it?

    Aj
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    surrounded by hostile natives.....NE Anglais
    Posts
    38
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using a 40" Plasma for my visuals?

    I don't see why not? check its all good pixels wise before you hand over the though, I bought a 2nd hand plasma about the same size n some of the edge of the screen was knackered! I use mine for my instrument panel.

    m

  3. #3
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using a 40" Plasma for my visuals?

    Hi,

    To be honest, its better than what i've got now which is a tiny dell screen!

    Even if a few dead pixels, I can cope with that because its a damn size larger than what I want.

    He only wants 70 because it has scratches and scuffs. Firstly the plasma will be mounted in my sim which is more or less a dark environment so wont be seen. Secondly, when the screen is on you cant see the scratches!

    I think I will go for it!

    By the way its a 42" and not a 40" as I first thought.....

    Aj,

    EDIT: I've just bought it!

    Last edited by AlexJ; 10-03-2011 at 06:24 AM.
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using a 40" Plasma for my visuals?

    Congrats

    We need pics to beleive you

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member Aaron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    102
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using a 40" Plasma for my visuals?

    With Plasma vs any other LCD screen you have better blacks and better price for inch. And you loose whites, resolution, and maybe a shorter color life. Plasmas also are less energetic efficients and give a lot of heat im your room. But as usual, all of this are just some factors to take into account vs many others!

    Congrats, and post pics!
    Greetings!
    Aaron Sanchez - http://mi737.blogspot.com

  6. #6
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using a 40" Plasma for my visuals?

    The Plasma is in London and opted to pay 40 for delivery so will post pics when it arrives:

    Until then:

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2006581702...ht_6444wt_1009
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict notgotaclue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    351
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using a 40" Plasma for my visuals?

    Are you sure you wont see those scratches? They look pretty nasty to me.
    The price of tv's are so low that I don't think I would have paid 110 for it - but each to his own.
    Don't forget to let us know how brilliant/crap* a buy it was once it arrives. (* delete as applicable)
    Allan.

    P.S. I absolutely HATE IT when the seller adds this in the shipping details - THE TV WILL NOT BE INSURED DURING TRANSIT. Why would I , as I buying care whether the tv is insured or not? It is the sellers problems if it damaged during transit. grrrrrrr.
    I also hate - I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ITEMS LOST IN THE POST - errrr Paypal begs to differ.

  8. #8
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using a 40" Plasma for my visuals?

    What's the worst that can happen? I take the bezel off and spray it black. The scratches I can bare with!

    At the end of the day, its got to be better than my tiny 17" screen!

    Can you see the scratches in this pic?



    This is my old visual lol:

    Last edited by AlexJ; 10-03-2011 at 02:51 PM.
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  9. #9
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using a 40" Plasma for my visuals?

    It is the sellers problems if it damaged during transit.
    Your definitely right on that one....
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict notgotaclue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    351
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using a 40" Plasma for my visuals?

    I suppose for 110 (in the words of Dragon's Den) It is worth a punt.
    As for not seeing the scratches in the pic - Photoshop is excellent nowadays. ............I tease.........
    As for your old visuals - put it in the attic and in 30 years times when you have a 3 x 110" LCD tv's display you can get it down and get all teary eyed about the good old days.
    Allan.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast