Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tholen, Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Otions to connect a 3rd screen to PC

    Hi everyone,

    Im am looking for an option to connect a third TFT to one pc.
    In that PC is one AGP Nvidia card with 2 screens connected. I saw there are also PCI videocards, but is it possible to have 2 working videocards in one PC?

    See attached image for an overview of PC setup in my cockpit.



    Hope you guys can help me out.

    Regards Corné
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie


    jonesthesoftware's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    aberdare, south wales UK
    Posts
    276
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Otions to connect a 3rd screen to PC

    Hi quick answer is YES but but but there's always a but....

    WIndow XP can support 6 monitors.( don't know about Win7). Your motherboard determines how many graphics cards you can plug in. Search the internet for pictures of various graphics slots which can be found on motherboards or download the manual for your motherboard and identify your slots. Modern mobos have PCI express X16, PCI express X2, or even PCI. you have to get the right type of card for the right slot. PCI express 16 is the fastest video bus. It is generally better to only use cards from the same manufacturer e.g don't mix ATI with Nvidia. Simplifies driver problems
    Another but is the type of video connectors on the various cards there's quite a range such as the VGA connector, DVI, RGA, HD etc., so check your monitor video connector as you may need adaptor cables.
    hope this helps
    regards
    geoff

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tholen, Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Otions to connect a 3rd screen to PC

    Thanks Geoff!
    On my mobo is one AGP slot and 4 PCI slots. There is allready one AGP Nvidia card installed. So you would suggest i look for a Nvidia PCI card?

    Regards Corné

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie


    jonesthesoftware's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    aberdare, south wales UK
    Posts
    276
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Otions to connect a 3rd screen to PC

    Hi Corne
    Yes you can add another Nvidia card or if you search the internet you might find a cheaper alternative is to buy one of the latest Nvidia cards which have 4 monitor outputs, but please do check what type of outputs they have relative to what PC monitors you have. You will need to download the latest drivers/screen setup software from the Nvisia websiet as well
    regards
    geoff

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Otions to connect a 3rd screen to PC

    Hi Corne,

    The other important consideration is the computers power supply and the requirements of the Card you intend to add. Just make sure your PSU can handle adding the extra card.

    Kind Regards

    Bernie.
    E8400 @ 3.0GHz, DDR2 Ram 800MHz 4Gb, Vista Home Premium 64Bit, MSI 9800GT @ 512Mb, Philips 22" LCD Widescreen, Cockpit Setup X 5 using Wideview and Widetraffic.

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tholen, Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Otions to connect a 3rd screen to PC

    I see it is not easy to find a cheap PCI videocard. I see they are about €50,- on Ebay.

    Maybe there is another option.
    Is it possible to add an TV card to the PC and connect the Opencockpits FMC to it??
    Then my TVout port of the Videocard is free and i can put the Co-pilot screen to it(see attached image in first post) I first need to know if this is possible!

    I hope you guys can help me out!

    Regards

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Otions to connect a 3rd screen to PC

    Hi Corne,

    The other option is to use a Y cable to split the signal for the second display. This will only give you a replica of the Captains side, but would give you something.

    Kind Regards

    Bernie.
    E8400 @ 3.0GHz, DDR2 Ram 800MHz 4Gb, Vista Home Premium 64Bit, MSI 9800GT @ 512Mb, Philips 22" LCD Widescreen, Cockpit Setup X 5 using Wideview and Widetraffic.

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tholen, Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Otions to connect a 3rd screen to PC

    Thanks, but thats not what i want.

    I hope someone has some experience with an PCI VGA card or with a TV card for the OC FMC.

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Otions to connect a 3rd screen to PC

    Hi Corne,

    This is what I bought for my displays just this month. Not too expensive and does the job well. I am using prosim. http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/ws/eBayIS...E:L:OU:AU:1123

    I have used TV out in the past but it does not give a very clear picture. The card above only requires a 300W power supply in the computer.

    Kind Regards

    Bernie.
    E8400 @ 3.0GHz, DDR2 Ram 800MHz 4Gb, Vista Home Premium 64Bit, MSI 9800GT @ 512Mb, Philips 22" LCD Widescreen, Cockpit Setup X 5 using Wideview and Widetraffic.

  10. #10
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Options to connect a 3rd screen to PC

    Corne,
    You could also look at using a Matrox Dual or Triple Head2go.
    These give you multiple monitors from a single output. that way you can have your main Out of window display across the dual or triple screens or you can simply move a window containing instruments on to the second screen.

    I have a Dual Head2Go and a third monitor off the second connection on my video card.

    I can have my scenery on the dual and instruments on the third monitor.

    I can also reduce the scenery to one of the dual monitors and run other panels off the second, and still have my main panel on the third.

    The main problem with multiple monitors off one card is the hit rate on your frames.

    A second card will give you another monitor but your resolutions may be an issue.

    Regards,
    AlexB