Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46
  1. #11
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    908
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: USBSteppers Card!

    Jack,
    A stepper i think still needs to know where to start from. This is why at startup it always does one revolution and then stops. Im afraid o/c stepper needs this sensor. Even if it doesnt have a sensor it still needs something like a home switch to tell it where to starty counting from.
    Just follow the manual and you cant go wrong. We are here when you get stuck.
    Also suggest when you have done this use the Compass example to test, i can verify it works.
    Les

  2. #12
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    635
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: USBSteppers Card!

    Thanks for the replies Les & David.

    That EXACT optical sensor is being fitted to my setup as I type (I had one lying around).

    Once fitted, I take it the first thing to do is run IOStepper.exe and see if it does a 360 degree turn and then stops?

    Also, as an extra note, I made this script:

    Code:
    Var 0112, name Switch7, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 222 // EVAC Toggle Switch
    {
     IF &Switch7 = 1
     {
      &BlinkLed = 60 // begin value of timer
      &BlinkLed = TIMER 0 -1 100
     }
    }
    
    Var 0001, Link USB_STEPPER, name Chrono, Output 1, PosL 255, PosC 24, PosR 4, Type H
    
    Var 6, name BlinkLed
    {
     L0 = &BlinkLed
     L1 = 60 - L0
     &Final_Value = L1
    }
    
    Var 7, name Final_Value
    {
     L0 = &Final_Value * 0.6
     &Final_Chrono = L0
     &Final_Deg = &Final_Chrono * 10
    }
    
    Var 8, name Final_Chrono
    
    Var 9, name Final_Deg // This is the EXACT degree value of the Chronograph - IE: When Final_Value = 15s, Final_Deg = 90 degrees
    Basically, a 60 second (which is what a Boeing chronograph represents) timer is triggered by a switch flick. Then, through numerous calculations, we can use the "Final_Deg" value to tell the Stepper motor where to go.

    For example, after 15 seconds, the needle will have moved exactly a quarter around the display. As such, Final_Deg will equal 90.

    Cheers,

    Jack

  3. #13
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    917
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: USBSteppers Card!

    Jack

    Quick progress

    Perhaps I am having another senior moment, but I do not see in your example any code to make the stepper actually move? Perhaps the stepper name is wrong as it is not referenced anywhere else in your code?

    Good luck

    Regards

    David

  4. #14
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    635
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: USBSteppers Card!

    Hi David,

    The script is just to calculate the degree of movement agsinst seconds elapsed. I haven't done any script to interface to the actual motor yet (I don't even know how yet!).

    Jack

  5. #15
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    917
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: USBSteppers Card!

    Jack

    Ok

    If you run config_sioc and look up usb stepper in the Help section there is a full explanation of the parameters to set for the stepper motor. You just then assign a variable to it and send the values to make it move.

    Regards

    David

  6. #16
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    761
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: USBSteppers Card!

    Hello,
    This is all you need for your project! It is what I use to drive my real Boeing clock which has stepper motors. Only 19.95!!
    http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1183 Drives it in open loop mode in continuous rotation.

    Rob

  7. #17
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    635
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: USBSteppers Card!

    Quote Originally Posted by 737NUT View Post
    Hello,
    This is all you need for your project! It is what I use to drive my real Boeing clock which has stepper motors. Only 19.95!!
    http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1183 Drives it in open loop mode in continuous rotation.

    Rob
    Thanks for the advice Rob!

    Unfortunately, things aren't looking good for the USBStepper Motors Card.

    I installed a light sensor, which fully works (completely tested with a multimeter; the 0v/5v logic works perfectly), but not with the USBStepper Card. After starting IOStepper.exe, the Stepper just continued to turn like it did previously.

    Also, after a few tries, the card suddenly became urecognised. Interestingly, I tested the pins on the card with a mutlimeter. The multimeter showed "overload" before completely blowing. The USBStepper Card also blew the front 2 ports on my PC!

    The power supply is just a normal 5V PSU, like on all my other OC Cards.

  8. #18
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    917
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: USBSteppers Card!

    Jack

    Very sorry to hear that! Lets hope that your computer is not overly damaged.

    Regards

    David

  9. #19
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    635
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: USBSteppers Card!

    Luckily, protective circuitry in my PC automatically disables the front 2 ports incase of a surge. I had to re-activate them by unplugging the USBStepper Card, and restarting the PC.

    Will use a very tought multimeter tonight to test why I got the Overload readings and why it blew my PC.

  10. #20
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    917
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: USBSteppers Card!

    Jack

    Good news. I assume the current draw from one stepper is less than 1 amp?

    Regards

    David

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast