Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Opencockpits USB Servo Card + 737 Flap Gauge

    Hi all.

    I really need some help with a problem on the OC USB Servo Card + Flap Gauge.
    I'm not as far in yet as writing the SIOC Script, I am just purely using the IOCards_test.exe that OC supply on their website.

    The test software recognises the USB Servo Card. I have plugged in the flap gauge into Servo socket 1. As soon as I plug in the 5V power supply, the servo automatically turns all the way anti-clockwise until it reaches its end and that is it.

    If I change the value in the Test program to set the gauge to a certain value, it wont move to that position. it will just try to move anti-clcokwise until it reaches the end of its turning.

    Also on the left hand side of the screen on the test software, the potentiometer input values are jumping between 60-100 very quickly, when nothing is connected to them.

    Any thoughts??

    Many Thanks

    Rich
    Key737

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    908
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB Servo Card + 737 Flap Gauge

    Hi Rich,
    First up ,dont worry about the values on the left side jumping as this normal because the inputs are floating. If this annoys you just puta jumper between
    centre and either pin. Should then read 0 or 255, 0 representing 0v and 255 5v.
    Did you build it yourself or was the Card and Flap unit supplied by OC?. You should be able to drag the slider and make the servo move from one end to the other. Can you do that?. Also 5v needs to be connected to the servo card.
    Let us know your answers, by the way there is code for flaps in the manual for this gauge if you didnt already know.
    Les

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member dazchad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Manchester, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Posts
    84
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB Servo Card + 737 Flap Gauge

    // *****************************************************************************
    // * Config_SIOC ver 3.7B1 - By Manolo Vélez - www.opencockpits.com
    // *****************************************************************************
    // * FileName : indicador flaps USBServos mas LE.txt
    // * Date : 23/11/2009



    Var 0000, Value 0
    {
    &ind_le_extend = 0
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }

    Var 0001, name servo_flaps, Link USB_SERVOS, Output 1, PosL 0, PosC 511, PosR 1023

    Var 0002, name flaps_fsuipc, Link FSUIPC_IN, Offset $0BE0, Length 4
    {
    L0 = &flaps_fsuipc
    L0 = ABS L0
    IF L0 = 0
    {
    &ind_le_extend = 0
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    ELSE
    {
    L1 = 0
    &ind_le_trans = 1
    IF L0 = 409
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 819
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 2047
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 4095
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 6143
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 10239
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 12287
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 16383
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    &ind_le_extend = L1
    }
    L2 = L0
    C0 = L0 >= 0
    C1 = L0 <= 409
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 0
    &flaps_high_val = 409
    &servo_high_val = 999
    &servo_low_val = 880 // 0 and 1
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 409
    C1 = L0 <= 819
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 409
    &flaps_high_val = 819
    &servo_high_val = 880
    &servo_low_val = 760 // 1 and 2
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 819
    C1 = L0 <= 2047
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 819
    &flaps_high_val = 2047
    &servo_high_val = 760
    &servo_low_val = 670 // 2 and 5
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 2047
    C1 = L0 <= 4095
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 2047
    &flaps_high_val = 4095
    &servo_high_val = 670
    &servo_low_val = 510 // 5 and 10
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 4095
    C1 = L0 <= 6143
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 4095
    &flaps_high_val = 6143
    &servo_high_val = 510
    &servo_low_val = 420 // 10 and 15
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 6143
    C1 = L0 <= 10239
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 6143
    &flaps_high_val = 10239
    &servo_high_val = 420
    &servo_low_val = 330 // 15 and 25
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 10239
    C1 = L0 <= 12287
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 10239
    &flaps_high_val = 12287
    &servo_high_val = 330
    &servo_low_val = 240 // 25 and 30
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 12287
    C1 = L0 <= 16383
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 12287
    &flaps_high_val = 16383
    &servo_high_val = 240
    &servo_low_val = 171 // 30 and 40
    }
    &servo_calc = &servo_low_val - &servo_high_val
    &flaps_calc = &flaps_high_val - &flaps_low_val
    &flaps_val = L0 - &flaps_low_val
    &servo_val = &servo_calc * &flaps_val
    &servo_val = &servo_val / &flaps_calc
    L1 = &servo_high_val + &servo_val
    &servo_flaps = L1
    }

    Var 0003, name servo_val

    Var 0004, name flaps_calc

    Var 0005, name servo_calc

    Var 0006, name flaps_val

    Var 0007, name flaps_low_val

    Var 0008, name flaps_high_val

    Var 0009, name servo_high_val

    Var 0010, name servo_low_val

    Var 0011, name ind_le_extend, Link IOCARD_OUT, Output 22

    Var 0012, name ind_le_trans, Link IOCARD_OUT, Output 21



    hi rich this is my SIOC Script for 737 f/g

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB Servo Card + 737 Flap Gauge

    DazChad

    Thanks for this! This will save me a lot of headache!

    Quote Originally Posted by dazchad View Post
    // *****************************************************************************
    // * Config_SIOC ver 3.7B1 - By Manolo Vélez - www.opencockpits.com
    // *****************************************************************************
    // * FileName : indicador flaps USBServos mas LE.txt
    // * Date : 23/11/2009



    Var 0000, Value 0
    {
    &ind_le_extend = 0
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }

    Var 0001, name servo_flaps, Link USB_SERVOS, Output 1, PosL 0, PosC 511, PosR 1023

    Var 0002, name flaps_fsuipc, Link FSUIPC_IN, Offset $0BE0, Length 4
    {
    L0 = &flaps_fsuipc
    L0 = ABS L0
    IF L0 = 0
    {
    &ind_le_extend = 0
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    ELSE
    {
    L1 = 0
    &ind_le_trans = 1
    IF L0 = 409
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 819
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 2047
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 4095
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 6143
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 10239
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 12287
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 16383
    {
    L1 = 1
    &ind_le_trans = 0
    }
    &ind_le_extend = L1
    }
    L2 = L0
    C0 = L0 >= 0
    C1 = L0 <= 409
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 0
    &flaps_high_val = 409
    &servo_high_val = 999
    &servo_low_val = 880 // 0 and 1
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 409
    C1 = L0 <= 819
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 409
    &flaps_high_val = 819
    &servo_high_val = 880
    &servo_low_val = 760 // 1 and 2
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 819
    C1 = L0 <= 2047
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 819
    &flaps_high_val = 2047
    &servo_high_val = 760
    &servo_low_val = 670 // 2 and 5
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 2047
    C1 = L0 <= 4095
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 2047
    &flaps_high_val = 4095
    &servo_high_val = 670
    &servo_low_val = 510 // 5 and 10
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 4095
    C1 = L0 <= 6143
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 4095
    &flaps_high_val = 6143
    &servo_high_val = 510
    &servo_low_val = 420 // 10 and 15
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 6143
    C1 = L0 <= 10239
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 6143
    &flaps_high_val = 10239
    &servo_high_val = 420
    &servo_low_val = 330 // 15 and 25
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 10239
    C1 = L0 <= 12287
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 10239
    &flaps_high_val = 12287
    &servo_high_val = 330
    &servo_low_val = 240 // 25 and 30
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 12287
    C1 = L0 <= 16383
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &flaps_low_val = 12287
    &flaps_high_val = 16383
    &servo_high_val = 240
    &servo_low_val = 171 // 30 and 40
    }
    &servo_calc = &servo_low_val - &servo_high_val
    &flaps_calc = &flaps_high_val - &flaps_low_val
    &flaps_val = L0 - &flaps_low_val
    &servo_val = &servo_calc * &flaps_val
    &servo_val = &servo_val / &flaps_calc
    L1 = &servo_high_val + &servo_val
    &servo_flaps = L1
    }

    Var 0003, name servo_val

    Var 0004, name flaps_calc

    Var 0005, name servo_calc

    Var 0006, name flaps_val

    Var 0007, name flaps_low_val

    Var 0008, name flaps_high_val

    Var 0009, name servo_high_val

    Var 0010, name servo_low_val

    Var 0011, name ind_le_extend, Link IOCARD_OUT, Output 22

    Var 0012, name ind_le_trans, Link IOCARD_OUT, Output 21



    hi rich this is my SIOC Script for 737 f/g

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB Servo Card + 737 Flap Gauge

    Les

    Thanks for the reply! Great to know about the potentiometer values, thanks. The card was pre-built along with the flap gauge and both supplied by OpenCockpits. There is a 5V supply connected up to the board already. When I drag the slider from one end to the other, it has no effect on the flap gauge. As soon as the 5v power is connected, the gauge just moves anti-clockwise on its own, until it reaches the end of its turn cycle.

    Quote Originally Posted by iwik View Post
    Hi Rich,
    First up ,dont worry about the values on the left side jumping as this normal because the inputs are floating. If this annoys you just puta jumper between
    centre and either pin. Should then read 0 or 255, 0 representing 0v and 255 5v.
    Did you build it yourself or was the Card and Flap unit supplied by OC?. You should be able to drag the slider and make the servo move from one end to the other. Can you do that?. Also 5v needs to be connected to the servo card.
    Let us know your answers, by the way there is code for flaps in the manual for this gauge if you didnt already know.
    Les

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    917
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB Servo Card + 737 Flap Gauge

    Rich

    When you connect the servo, to the controller card and turn the power supply on, does the little "radio button" underneath "ser-1" turn black?

    David

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB Servo Card + 737 Flap Gauge

    David

    When everything is connected, nothing changes on the iocards_test.exe. It recognises the card, with device ID of 2048, and shows potentioeter values moving (until i stopped them by putting a jumper on each one). The radio button under Ser-1 is already black when program opens. Even when I select Ser-6. and then connect everything, it dosent switch to Ser-1. The gauge is definetly connected to Ser-1.

    Thanks

    Rich

    Quote Originally Posted by fordgt40 View Post
    Rich

    When you connect the servo, to the controller card and turn the power supply on, does the little "radio button" underneath "ser-1" turn black?

    David

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    917
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB Servo Card + 737 Flap Gauge

    Rich

    So whatever servo input you use, the appropriate radio button turns black, but the servo always rotates fully anticlockwise and will not respond to the slider or manual input.

    I assume that your pc properly recognises the servo usb card ie not as "unkown device". Have you tried using different USB ports and I assume you are not connecting through a hub?

    Running out of suggestions here

    David

  9. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB Servo Card + 737 Flap Gauge

    David

    The radio buttons Do Not turn black. It just stays on Ser-1 unless i physically change it with the mouse in the software.

    It recognises the card, and assigns it the device ID of 2048. It detects the potentiometer inputs so I know it is seeing the card. I have tried 3 different USB ports, and 2 different machines altogether. No hub, directly into each machine when tried. I know, It is very confusing, since all I have read about this from people, saying it is a very easy setup. We can only come to the conclusion that it is either a dodgy card or Servo.

    Quote Originally Posted by fordgt40 View Post
    Rich

    So whatever servo input you use, the appropriate radio button turns black, but the servo always rotates fully anticlockwise and will not respond to the slider or manual input.

    I assume that your pc properly recognises the servo usb card ie not as "unkown device". Have you tried using different USB ports and I assume you are not connecting through a hub?

    Running out of suggestions here

    David

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    193
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB Servo Card + 737 Flap Gauge

    Rich,

    Have you verified the Servo wiring?

    J9 a J14 – Servo motors
    Pin 1 = +5V
    Pin 2 = Data (S)
    Pin 3 = GND
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast