Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    4th Mastercard Inputs totally inoperable

    Hi everyone,

    I'm having an issue with my 4th Mastercard connected to my USBExpansion Card.

    I Have 2 Mastercards, 1 plugged into J1 (MC1), and 1 plugged into J4 (MC4) on the USBExpasnion Card. Slots 2 and 3 are left empty.

    Simply put, SIOC does not seem to be picking up any INPUT commands gained from MC4 (although outputs still work fine).

    I have an Opencockpits Input connector box plugged into J3 on the Mastercard. There are a few switches connected to this Input box, and none of them are picked up.

    This is my SIOC.ini file:

    Code:
    [SIOC]
    IOCP_port=8092
    IOCP_timeout=4000
    Minimized=Yes
    toggle_delay=20
    CONFIG_FILE=Cockpit_Full.ssi
    [IOCARDS MODULE]
    IOCard_disable=No
    IOCard_LPT=No
    
    [USBKEYS]
    USBKeys=0,96
    
    [USBDCMOTORS]
    USBDCmotor=0,38
    
    [DCMOTORSAD]
    USBAnalogic=0,38
    
    [MASTERS]
    MASTER=3,11,1,70
    MASTER=2,5,1,50
    MASTER=0,4,4,12
    
    [A/D USED MASTER]
    USB_AD=4
    
    [MULTIPLE]
    MUSB=Yes
    
    [USBSERVOS]
    USBSERVOS=0,4
    deviceUSB=2132
    
    [FSUIPC MODULE]
    FSUipcdisable=No
    FSUipcRefresh=50
    
    [IOCP CLIENTS MODULES]
    IOCPini_delay=3000
    IOCPclient0_disable=Yes
    IOCPclient0_host=localhost
    IOCPclient0_port=8090
    IOCPclient1_disable=Yes
    IOCPclient1_host=localhost
    IOCPclient1_port=8099
    
    [SOUND MODULE]
    Sound_disable=NO
    Volume=100
    To test, I made a SIOC script covering all possible Inputs on J3:

    Code:
    Var 0102, name Switch1, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 216
    
    Var 0107, name Switch2, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 217
    
    Var 0108, name Switch3, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 218
    
    Var 0109, name Switch4, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 219
    
    Var 0110, name Switch5, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 220
    
    Var 0111, name Switch6, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 221
    
    Var 0112, name Switch7, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 222
    
    Var 0125, name Switch19, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 223
    
    Var 0114, name Switch9, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 224
    
    Var 0115, name Switch10, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 225
    
    Var 0116, name Switch11, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 226
    
    Var 0117, name Switch12, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 227
    
    Var 0118, name Switch13, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 228
    
    Var 0119, name Switch14, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 229
    
    Var 0120, name Switch15, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 230
    
    Var 0121, name Switch16, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 231
    
    Var 0122, name Switch17, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 232
    
    Var 0123, name Switch18, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 233
    
    Var 0124, name Switch20, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 234
    
    Var 0126, name Switch21, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 235
    
    Var 0127, name Switch22, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 236
    
    Var 0128, name Switch23, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 237
    
    Var 0129, name Switch24, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 238
    
    Var 0130, name Switch25, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 239
    
    Var 0131, name Switch26, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 240
    
    Var 0132, name Switch27, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 241
    
    Var 0133, name Switch28, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 242
    
    Var 0134, name Switch29, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 243
    
    Var 0135, name Switch30, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 244
    
    Var 0136, name Switch31, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 245
    
    Var 0137, name Switch32, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 246
    
    Var 0138, name Switch33, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 247
    
    Var 0139, name Switch34, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 248
    
    Var 0140, name Switch35, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 249
    
    Var 0141, name Switch36, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 250
    
    Var 0142, name Switch37, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 251
    After starting SIOC and making sure the script is run, I go into IOCPConsole, and flick the various switches. However, there is no reaction.

    Sounds like a faulty switch, right? So, I dug out my multimeter and tested the switches (I even put the multimeter terminals on the Input box to make sure it wasn't the box that was faulty). Low and behold, the switch worked flawlessly when tested with the multimeter.

    So, in short, I have an Input box connected to J3 of Mastercard number 4. Whilst the outputs work, none of the inputs are recognised by IOCPConsole or SIOC.

    Furthermore; can someone please tell me the purpose of the Red LED on the USBExpansion Card?

    Cheers,

    Jack

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie


    jonesthesoftware's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    aberdare, south wales UK
    Posts
    276
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 4th Mastercard Inputs totally inoperable

    You must use the sockets in sequence. i.e you must use J1 then J2 then J3 , don't leave gaps. Make sure you have 5 volts connected to each of the master cards. this is not necessary for the USB expansion card
    this is from the manual
    *******************************************************************
    J1, J2, J3 and J4 connectors: The DB-25 connectors are where up to 4 master cards can
    be connected. If you are only using 1 master card, you must use the J1 connector; if you
    are using 2 master cards, then you must use J1 and J2 and so on.
    J5 connector: +5 volts DC. This connector is used to feed additional circuits, but not to
    feed the USB expansion card, which is fed through the USB connection with the PC.
    J7, J8, J9 and J10 connectors: These are used to connect analog inputs (10 K linear
    potentiometers). In the IOCards software we’ll define how many of these inputs we are
    using. Pin #1 (left side, GND) is connected to any of the potentiometer pins except the
    center one, pin #2 (center) which is connected to the center pin on the potentiometer. Pin
    #3 (right side, +5 V DC) is connected to the last pin on the potentiometer.
    USB connector: To connect the card with the PC.
    LED: It blinks any time an input in the master card changes. If no master card is
    connected it will blink randomly.
    SW1: These are used to reset the USB expansion card. Simply touch them together for a
    moment to reset the card.
    *****************************************************
    don't forget to edit your controlador.ini file


    Controlador.ini: We have to check the following sections (regarding the USB card, the
    rest of sections must be not changed).

    [ Iocard Master expansion USB ]
    USB=yes
    [ Múltiples USBs ]
    MUSB=No
    (We would write ‘YES’ if we were using more than one USB card in the same PC.)

    [ USB Device number ]
    deviceUSB=2048
    (This number is used only in the case of MUSB=Yes to define which card we are testing
    with the software.)

    [ A/D used by Iocard Master expansion USB ]
    USB_AD=4
    (Number of potentiometers that are connected (0,1, 2, 3 or 4).)

    [ Number of connected master cards ]
    NCards=1
    (Number of master cards connected to the USB card (1, 2, 3 or 4).)
    IOCard.ini: We have to check the following sections (regarding the USB card, the rest of
    sections must be not changed).

    [ Iocard Master expansion USB ]
    USB=YES
    [ Múltiples USBs ]

    MUSB=No

    **************************************************************************
    regards
    geoff

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 4th Mastercard Inputs totally inoperable

    Hi Geoff,

    Thanks for your excellent, detailed reply. Unfortunately, it is not possible for me to use J2/J3 at the moment in terms of space.

    Thank you for the notes re controlador.ini; I honestly did know that it worked with multiple master cards.

    Yes, there is definitely 5V connected to each card.

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 4th Mastercard Inputs totally inoperable

    Right, I have it picking up inputs, but I'm getting severe "bounce".

    When flicking a switch, SIOC also receives inputs from 2 other switches, and so on. It's almost as if there's a loose terminal, but I've checked multiple times with a multimeter, and each and every switch is fine.

    I think the cause is that Opencockpits use very sensitive CMOS chips which easily pick up electrical interference from some sources.

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 4th Mastercard Inputs totally inoperable

    I can confirm I'm receiving significant "bouncing" from certain inputs. Would connecting these un-used inputs to a 5V source (on the Mastercard) reduce this bouncing?

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 4th Mastercard Inputs totally inoperable

    Jack,
    In another of your threads you had two GND pins tied together, have you tried removing this link.
    I dont have to do anything with my unused inputs and they dont cause any problem.
    Les

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 4th Mastercard Inputs totally inoperable

    Hi Les,

    I don't have any of my Grounds linked together at the moment.

    This interference is apparently quite common with CMOS (according to a few Google searches). The most common fix is to put either the source feed (0V or 5V) into the unused inputs to avoid interference.

    However, I'm unsure if this will damage the card or not.