Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: fsuipc

  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    125
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    fsuipc

    I am having problems calibrating my rudder.

    1) What determines the "joy" number? Is it a particular device or the card I am using (Leo's)

    2) Is my rudder, left brake, and right brake one device or three?

    3)When I "re-scan" the rudder the joy number comes up as 1 or on another scan as 2.

    I am somewhat confused......

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: fsuipc

    What type of pedals are you trying to calibrate? If you have separate pots for the toe brakes you should see three axis, one for each brake and one for the rudder control.

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    125
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: fsuipc

    I have the revolution rudder pedals but I get different joy numbers for rudder and pedals - it changes on re-scan

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: fsuipc

    That's an odd on? I'm guessing you have checked to see what axis is assigned to what function already? I'm only guessing but could FSUIPC be thinking that your rudder axis is the left and right toe brakes? I'm not even sure that is possible but... you should also make sure that you don't have any axis assigned from within the FSX control panel, occasionally FSX will assign functions to pots and buttons at random. Again I'm only guessing...

    Now that I think about it I had a similar issue with a collective I built, the pot wasn't centred and FSUIPC was reading a zero value when the collective was only part way down. As soon as it started reading a negative value (pushing the collective a little further down) it would jump back up to full power? Did you take the pot out of the pedals or replace it?

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    125
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: fsuipc

    No there have been no changes . It was working ok but after trying to calibrate the tiller I lost rudder use

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: fsuipc

    Quote Originally Posted by Martin Cumming View Post
    I have the revolution rudder pedals but I get different joy numbers for rudder and pedals - it changes on re-scan
    If the axis assignment in FSUIPC show changes on rescan then the axis shown is changing -- jittering. FSUIPC picks up the first axis to provide a new input. If you aren't changing it then it is changing by itself, so it is unstable -- a state known as "jitter" -- and not really very desirable. It is often a result of a poor power supply, dirt on the pots, high humidity or varying temperature, or simply poor quality hardware which makes it more susceptible to these things.

    Incidentally, I've tried Leo Bodnar boards and these certainly do not contribute towards jitter, but are instead very stable indeed.

    To separate jittering axes from each other, use the "ignore axis" button so that the rescan will pick up the other. That option only lasts whilst you stay in the options or click the button to clear the ignore list.

    Best ask this sort of question in my Support Forum. I would normally see it more speedily -- although, saying that, after tomorrow I am away for 8 days.

    Pete

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    125
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: fsuipc

    Thanks Peter I'll check it out again