Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question How does the FS2P "keysend" variable work?

    I'm trying to trigger some events in FSX for which I can not find working offsets. Electrical failure for example.

    If I assign a keyboard input in either FSX or FSUIPC to a given event (like electrical failure) can I use the FS2P "keysend" variable to trigger that?

    For example, I chose "J" to trigger an electrical failure so if I hit "J" on my keyboard my aircraft suffers an electrical failure. Can I now get FS2P to send the "J" to FSX and cause the same event to occur?

  2. #2
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How does the FS2P "keysend" variable work?

    You could assign a keystroke to an FSUIPC offset in FS2Phidget4, but you might want to look at the Key tab on the FSUIPC Settings and Options.
    On older versions of MS-Flight Simulator the FSUIPC Settings and Options were loacted on the menu bar - Modules -> FSUIPC , not sure if same as FSX.

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How does the FS2P "keysend" variable work?

    Quote Originally Posted by CocnutAir View Post
    You could assign a keystroke to an FSUIPC offset in FS2Phidget4, but you might want to look at the Key tab on the FSUIPC Settings and Options.
    On older versions of MS-Flight Simulator the FSUIPC Settings and Options were loacted on the menu bar - Modules -> FSUIPC , not sure if same as FSX.
    I don't know that I'm following you. I'm running FS2P 5 and have set up a series of variables that sense the voltage and amperage from FSX and trigger a valve. All seem to be working when tested with an LED as the output device. Instead of that LED though I want to deliver a keystroke back to FSX from FS2P. I guess via FSUIPC if that's the way to do it.

    Can this be done?

  4. #4
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How does the FS2P "keysend" variable work?

    Tom,
    I am not sure I got the Keysend offset working in fs2ph5. My development computer died and I picked up virus on my new machine. Have not looked at fs2ph5 in a while. fs2ph4 does have this functionality. Have you done a lot of work in 5?
    Regards,
    Alan

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How does the FS2P "keysend" variable work?

    Quote Originally Posted by CocnutAir View Post
    Tom,
    I am not sure I got the Keysend offset working in fs2ph5. My development computer died and I picked up virus on my new machine. Have not looked at fs2ph5 in a while. fs2ph4 does have this functionality. Have you done a lot of work in 5?
    Regards,
    Alan
    I do have a fair amount of work done in 5. I take it the xml file isn't backwards compatible?

    Can I have 4 and 5 loaded concurrently?

  6. #6
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How does the FS2P "keysend" variable work?

    Version 4 uses ini files, version 5 uses xml.
    Have never run the two concurrently. Cannot think of a reason why one couldn't. Cannot say what the performance impact would be.