Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    30
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Garmin G1000 pushbuttons

    Hi all,

    I am currently searching for pushbuttons for the Garmin G1000 set. I have read about people here on the forum about these buttons but I didn't find a good source yet.
    For the rotary knobs I contacted a Garmin service center here in the Netherlands and they possibly could sell me a set of orginal Garmin knobs. they want come cheap, I saw number of around 170 pound or so somewhere els in this forum, but the are original!
    I contacted a switch company here in Europe who already did some work on simulator parts (I think it are PFC parts...) and asked them if they would be able to make a complete engraved set of pushbutton lenses for the G1000. They were not unwilling I had the impression but I have no clue on the prices yet.
    Of course the price will go down the more you order. The complete G1000 set incl. Keypad and Audio Control Panel comprises 125 buttons.

    Are there any people here on MyCockpit.org who would be interested in such a set of buttons?
    Maybe (if they would do it in the first place) I can get a better price for 5 sets i.s.o one!

    regards,

    Lizz

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    30
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 pushbuttons

    Forget it people, the manufacturer just informed me that they will not do it due to minimum ordering quantities.
    The search continues..............

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Ronson2k9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    London, ON Canada
    Posts
    528
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 pushbuttons

    You could try these guys they built a Garmin 530 not the same as the 1000 but the button setup/manufacture could work for you.

    Emuteq Systems (they are here too) started as a project build that went commercial)
    Up Up and away in my beautiful my beautiful - Amphibian

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member Steve1970's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    134
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 pushbuttons

    Quote Originally Posted by touwersl View Post
    Hi all,

    I am currently searching for pushbuttons for the Garmin G1000 set. I have read about people here on the forum about these buttons but I didn't find a good source yet.
    For the rotary knobs I contacted a Garmin service center here in the Netherlands and they possibly could sell me a set of orginal Garmin knobs. they want come cheap, I saw number of around 170 pound or so somewhere els in this forum, but the are original!
    I contacted a switch company here in Europe who already did some work on simulator parts (I think it are PFC parts...) and asked them if they would be able to make a complete engraved set of pushbutton lenses for the G1000. They were not unwilling I had the impression but I have no clue on the prices yet.
    Of course the price will go down the more you order. The complete G1000 set incl. Keypad and Audio Control Panel comprises 125 buttons.

    Are there any people here on MyCockpit.org who would be interested in such a set of buttons?
    Maybe (if they would do it in the first place) I can get a better price for 5 sets i.s.o one!

    regards,

    Lizz
    Hi Lizz,

    I am currently working on machining my own custom buttons. MEC switches have a variant with in-built LED. It is my intention to create backlight buttons. Lots of testing still to do though. Basically they are made from opal acrylic then painted black, finally the engraving removes the paint to allow the white substrate and light to bleed through. The problem with this method is controlling the paint to the correct thickness. Also rotary engraving is not the best method. Laser engraving would be better. I am talking to a company that specialise in the painting of plastic to tight tolerances and laser engraving (mobile phone buttons for example). I will let you know how this goes.


    Cheers
    Steve.
    www.emuteq.com

  5. #5
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    North east
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 pushbuttons

    I am constructing a G1000 unit myself. The closest buttons I have found is from Lamb industries # PA411c1100......another question maybe someone can help. I am trying to map out this button to a Flythesim G1000 software. The problem is that I am going through a Leo Bodner Bu0836x board and the Keystrokes are not registering. I know I make contact when I press the pushbutton (game controller screen flashed red on button #1) but the simsoftware does not see it. Do I need an interface here.
    Mike

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member Steve1970's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    134
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 pushbuttons

    Quote Originally Posted by Maxx1 View Post
    I am constructing a G1000 unit myself. The closest buttons I have found is from Lamb industries # PA411c1100......another question maybe someone can help. I am trying to map out this button to a Flythesim G1000 software. The problem is that I am going through a Leo Bodner Bu0836x board and the Keystrokes are not registering. I know I make contact when I press the pushbutton (game controller screen flashed red on button #1) but the simsoftware does not see it. Do I need an interface here.
    Mike
    Hi Mike

    Have you tryed talking to the guys at FTS. I think you will need to map the buttons in a keys xml file.

    Cheers
    Steve
    www.emuteq.com

  7. #7
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    North east
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 pushbuttons

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve1970 View Post
    Hi Mike

    Have you tryed talking to the guys at FTS. I think you will need to map the buttons in a keys xml file.

    Cheers
    Steve
    www.emuteq.com
    Hi Steve,
    Tks for the relply....Yea...spoke to Carl & Eric @ FTS....they say that a keyboard emulator is needed much like the emuteq as they only recognise certain devices. There instruction was to try and make the BU0836X act like a keyboard & then test the resonse through notepad ...and such things like that...I have an email into Leo Bodnar to see what he is reccomending...not sure I know how to use an XML to do what you suggest , however
    Regards, Miike

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member Steve1970's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    134
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 pushbuttons

    Quote Originally Posted by Maxx1 View Post
    Hi Steve,
    Tks for the relply....Yea...spoke to Carl & Eric @ FTS....they say that a keyboard emulator is needed much like the emuteq as they only recognise certain devices. There instruction was to try and make the BU0836X act like a keyboard & then test the resonse through notepad ...and such things like that...I have an email into Leo Bodnar to see what he is reccomending...not sure I know how to use an XML to do what you suggest , however
    Regards, Miike
    Try AUTOHOTKEY or another one is SVMAPPER

  9. #9
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    North east
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 pushbuttons

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve1970 View Post
    Try AUTOHOTKEY or another one is SVMAPPER
    Hi Steve,
    yep ...have the Autohotkey.......but found the Xpadder to be very..very easy with their GUI ...it's communicating as we speak...tks for you help...Btw...are those buttons good for you ...I have them and they are very nice..will be installing them in a black Kydex plate I am cnc ing..

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 pushbuttons

    Hello

    Somebody knows where I can find a G1000 stand alone software ?

    Thx

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast