Page 2 of 19 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 184

Thread: PoKeys USB Interface

  1. #11
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    285

    Re: PoKeys USB Interface

    Nice to hear Mark


    Regards, Wendy
    http://www.flightsimparts.eu
    PoKeys interface cards

  2. #12
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778

    Re: PoKeys USB Interface

    Is it common ground or power? I am really interested as I am sick of the issues i'm having with SIOC and OC cards and no support. Half my cards I have to unplug the usb and replug just to get the pc to recognize them everytime i boot up my PC. Sorry for the rant there. Thanks for the info.
    It looks promising!
    Rob

  3. #13

    Re: PoKeys USB Interface

    Quote Originally Posted by 737NUT View Post
    Is it common ground or power? I am really interested as I am sick of the issues i'm having with SIOC and OC cards and no support. Half my cards I have to unplug the usb and replug just to get the pc to recognize them everytime i boot up my PC. Sorry for the rant there. Thanks for the info.
    It looks promising!
    Rob
    The manual has some nice electronics schematics that will tell you how to connect hardware to the card. For outputs it seems to have a common ground.

    http://poscope.com/uploads/files/PoKeys.pdf

  4. #14
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    285

    Re: PoKeys USB Interface

    Hello,

    For all ports it is common ground. Like Marty says, with the schematics in the manual you are off in no time. And no scripting anymore


    Regards, Wendy
    http://www.flightsimparts.eu
    PoKeys interface cards

  5. #15
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Leuven, Belgium
    Posts
    41

    Re: PoKeys USB Interface

    This looks like a really powerfull card at a great price! And I love the native support in ProSim
    Before I make the switch, I have some questions:

    1) On my FDS Sys card I can share 8 inputs/outputs with one common. Can this card do this aswell? (trying to keep wiring to a minimum)
    2) I see this card supports HD44780 for LCD. Does Marty have any intentions to support this feature aswell? Could be usefull for elec panel, IRS...

    Regards
    Thomas

  6. #16
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    285

    Re: PoKeys USB Interface

    Hello Thomas,

    I don't know if I understand it correctly, if my answer is not clear to you please tell me.

    All inputs and outputs on 1 card share the same common ground. Led's can be powered from the onboard supply, 3,3 Volt, also with the same common ground. If you have a lot of led's you should connect the card to a powered USB hub or maybe it is better to use the ethernet version as this one needs a separate 5 volt supply. However support for this card is not yet finished.

    LCD, Led displays and the like... Yes I know this card has everything we need in cockpitbuilding. But for now only digital in/out and analog ins are supported in Prosim and tested for the USB version with multiple cards connected. All works great. That is already a lot to start with.

    Maybe the rest... ah you never know.


    Regards, Wendy
    http://www.flightsimparts.eu
    PoKeys interface cards

  7. #17

    Re: PoKeys USB Interface

    I'd like to support the display interface, but I'll first need to find a display that I can connect to it. I can then add support for it. If anyone can supply one, that would be great.

  8. #18
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Leuven, Belgium
    Posts
    41

    Re: PoKeys USB Interface

    Wendy, a followup

    1) does Prosim provide native support aswell for the ethernet version? Can I connect multiple ethernet version through a switch hub?
    2) on the common ground: imagine I want to wire 55 input switches. So on switch 1 I connect the ground and input to the Pokeys and from switch 1 I connect the ground aswell in serie to switch 2, then to switch 3, all the way to switch 55?
    That would be really neat to avoid messy cabling!

    Thomas

  9. #19
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    285

    Re: PoKeys USB Interface

    @ Thomas,

    1/
    I have an ethernet card ready to sent to Marty so that he can implement it.

    2/
    Yes, you can.


    @Marty
    I will add an LCD to the package that is ready for you


    Regards, Wendy
    http://www.flightsimparts.eu
    PoKeys interface cards

  10. #20

    Re: PoKeys USB Interface

    Quote Originally Posted by fly_ebos View Post
    Wendy, a followup

    1) does Prosim provide native support aswell for the ethernet version? Can I connect multiple ethernet version through a switch hub?
    2) on the common ground: imagine I want to wire 55 input switches. So on switch 1 I connect the ground and input to the Pokeys and from switch 1 I connect the ground aswell in serie to switch 2, then to switch 3, all the way to switch 55?
    That would be really neat to avoid messy cabling!

    Thomas
    As soon as my test ethernet device arrives, I will add the driver support. Support should be available this week. The ethernet version works just as easy as the USB version. There is no specific configuration in ProSim nessecary. ProSim will automatically detect all ethernet PoKeys cards in the network and connect to them. They are then identified by serial number like the USB version.

    The common ground works that way. You make one long ground cable, running from the card and connecting all your switches. You then wire the signal cables from every switch to the card. It works identical to the phidgets setup.

Page 2 of 19 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast