Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Need some expert advice (Precision Flight Controls rudder pedals)

    Hi Folks

    Problem with my rudder inputs... so I called PFC in California.

    Nice folks but BIG bucks.

    He says: Suspects are wiring... POT... or board. I'm pretty sure it's NOT a wiring issue.

    They want $35.00 US for a replacement Alpha B100K POT + $27.00 shipping.

    Their proprietary 280001 USB board is no longer available so they want you to send the whole 40 pound unit in for a $339.00 upgrade. ($75.00 shipping x2)

    So... I'm going to replace the POT first @ $2.50 for a locally purchased one.

    Question is... if it's not the POT... where can I pick up a 3-axis USB interface board to replace theirs.

    Any thoughts... ideas or suggestions for this electronics newbie would be greatly appreciated !

    Thanks !!

    Rick / Canada

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need some expert advice (Precision Flight Controls rudder pedals)

    Rick

    Try here

    http://www.leobodnar.com/

    David

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need some expert advice (Precision Flight Controls rudder pedals)

    Hi Rick

    I take it you took the cover off so you could see the Pot? I had an issue with a set of brand new PFC pedals that wouldn't stay calibrated. Turned out the pot and its gear weren't installed correctly, the pot gear wasn't messhing with the drive gear at all. The drive gear was turning the pot only because it was firmly pressed up against the shaft of the pot gear! It was a quick 5 minute fix but I wasn't to impressed. I had to send the yoke back for repairs (brand new) because the bushing that holds the yoke shaft wasn't installed correctly and broke in the first few minutes of use. As already mentioned the bodnar board and a new pot would be the simplest solution to getting your pedals working again.

  4. #4
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need some expert advice (Precision Flight Controls rudder pedals)

    Thanks for the info. !!!

    Yes... I do have it apart and was trying to set the calibration (without success) with the POT disconnected from the pedals... I could only get it to move the rudder in one direction... and it was giving me all kinds of variations in the raw data during the process. POT ? Board ?? Thought I'd start with the cheap part first.

    I'm not much of an electronics guy (actually not at all).

    Any particular model "Bodnar" board you folks could recommend for this application would be appreciated.

    P.S. PFC wants $85 for their proprietary board plus another $30 to ship it. I'm assuming that when they say the unit has to back for a $339.00 upgrade to replace their old 280001 with the new 460001 board... it involves some sort of modifications to the metal frame to fit the new one in ??

    Hoping the new POT will fix the issue.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need some expert advice (Precision Flight Controls rudder pedals)

    Darth,

    The Leo board to go with is the buo836x. http://www.leobodnar.com/products/BU0836X/

    That is unless you LOVE soldering wires into tiny connectors.

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  6. #6
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need some expert advice (Precision Flight Controls rudder pedals)

    Thanks for that suggestion !

    You must be reading my mind.... about soldering.

    Hopefully it's just the POT + the old board is OK.

    Rick / Canada

  7. #7
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need some expert advice (Precision Flight Controls rudder pedals)

    AK Mongo

    What about the smaller BUO836... ?

    Looks pretty simple with the connectors available.

    Only thing is ... the PFC rudder pedals do NOT have any white (Grnd) wires connected to their 3 POTS. Only Red + Black.

    Rick / Canada

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need some expert advice (Precision Flight Controls rudder pedals)

    So your pots only have 2 wires? I have never heard of a pot without at least 3. Out of my depth...

    If the only thing you are going to use your interface card for is to interface 1 pot (or is it?), then the simplest, fastest, cheapest way to do it, is to get a cheap or second hand joystick and hack it. this would just entail hooking your pot into the existing axis connection on the joystick and programming it in FSX to use the axis in that joystick.

    The Bodnar card will let you add additional switches and/or rotary encoders, and axes to your pit for other things (trim, flaps, etc.)

    I cannot speak for the smaller one specifically but the BUO 836x is excellent!

    Reid

    Quote Originally Posted by darthranger View Post
    AK Mongo

    What about the smaller BUO836... ?

    Looks pretty simple with the connectors available.

    Only thing is ... the PFC rudder pedals do NOT have any white (Grnd) wires connected to their 3 POTS. Only Red + Black.

    Rick / Canada
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  9. #9
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need some expert advice (Precision Flight Controls rudder pedals)

    Thanks !!

    Rick / Canada

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    seattle
    Posts
    147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need some expert advice (Precision Flight Controls rudder pedals)

    Hi, I have a PFC yoke and can confirm the pots only have two wires. But there are three terminals like all pots it is just that there card only needs two. It simply measures the resistance while the three wire setup like Bodnar cards use is a voltage across the outer terminals and reads the voltage from the center wiper that reads from 0-5v depending on position. So look at the pots and you will see another unused terminal that can be used. There is one on one end and two next to each other on the other end. A check with a volt meter (set to resistance) will tell you what pin is the wiper.

    And although I think Bodnar cards are "the s**t" you can use any old joystick and rip it apart. Works good for that old stick with the dirty pots that will not calibrate anymore.

    Andy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast