Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    MORE Elite Radio Stack Help?

    I all, I have just bought an Elite AP-2000 full radio stack which connects to serial, can a converter be added to convert this to usb, or are these units strictly serial only?

    Thanks Alex
    Last edited by AlexJ; 08-02-2011 at 09:13 AM.
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    136
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Elite Radio Stack Help?

    There are good chances. thats all you need ,is a hardware serial to usb adapter-comes usualy with software driver
    I got few serial devices working this way
    Another root to go is to purchasse pci serial and Lpt card
    Those are very cheap on ebay

    Regards
    Joseph

  3. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  4. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Elite Radio Stack Help?

    Wow Alex!

    Good for you!

    looks like they have your answer right in their FAQ section:

    http://www.flyelite.ch/en/support/fa...php?showfaq=63

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  5. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  6. #4
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MORE Elite Radio Stack Help?

    Hi All,

    I have the serial version of the elite radio stack and has a free serial port to use, though when the unit is plugged in, nothing happens, do I need a driver of somesort? Thanks
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  7. #5
    75+ Posting Member Bjarne Horsbøl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Copenhagen Denmark
    Posts
    84
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MORE Elite Radio Stack Help?

    Hey Alex

    Maybe this is what you are looking for ?
    http://www.flyelite.ch/en/support/fa...php?showfaq=19

    Regards Bjarne

  8. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  9. #6
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MORE Elite Radio Stack Help?

    Hi All.

    Marc at Elite offered excellent customer service that is simply 'Elite' and thanks to his world class and speedy support I now have my radio stack installed and working!

    Thanks to Marc and all your replies!

    (I now know why Elite is called 'Elite'!)

    Thank you
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  10. #7
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Graham, WA
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MORE Elite Radio Stack Help?

    I've always thought they call themselves "Elite" over their pricing or their refusal to provide programming information for their hardware. (I've got an AP-3000. It's nice, but it's not worth anything near what they're charging for it)

    g.

  11. #8
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MORE Elite Radio Stack Help?

    I Paid just £75 for my full Elite AP-2000 radio stack so I'm very happy! Lol
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  12. #9
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Graham, WA
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MORE Elite Radio Stack Help?

    Now THAT is a good price. I got mine in trade.

    g.

  13. #10
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MORE Elite Radio Stack Help?

    I think that the guy who sold me his elite radio stack never knew how much they were worth as he bought it in a bundle and just sold of bits and pieces he didnt need.....SUCH AS RADIO STACK? Crazy, but hey, I have the last laughs lol!
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast