Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member Willow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hobart, Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    31
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Sim Avionics verses Pro Sim 737 software - advice please

    Hello!

    Building my 737 flight deck using fully pre-wired MIP from Flight Deck Solutions. I will be running FS9 using the PMDG model (I'll upgrade to FSX when PMDG release the new 737 ngx.)

    I need advice as to which is the better software to use??

    Advice appreciated. Thank you, WilloW

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sim Avionics verses Pro Sim 737 software - advice please

    Both are good, can't go wrong with either.

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member Willow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hobart, Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    31
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sim Avionics verses Pro Sim 737 software - advice please

    Thanks for your note of confidence

    Are the flight characteristics different between the two sets of software?

    WilloW

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sim Avionics verses Pro Sim 737 software - advice please

    Why dont you download both demo versions and try them out ?.

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member Willow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hobart, Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    31
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sim Avionics verses Pro Sim 737 software - advice please

    Hi @4gdt40. Because I do not have the simulator set up yet. I will be ordering it after I determine software configuration. Either FDS Pro MIP or Engravity Pro MIP.

    I have been told that ProSim 737 will only work with FDS via FSUPIC with additional tweaking. However, it will operate with Engravity MIP straight away as designed.

    It seems that Sim Avionics software more or less is designed for FDS.

    I've read a few reports that Sim Avionics software can cause problems with MCP and capturing speed at altitude from CDU (forum).

    Thank you, WilloW

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie Melnato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    206
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sim Avionics verses Pro Sim 737 software - advice please

    I have been told that ProSim 737 will only work with FDS via FSUPIC with additional tweaking. However, it will operate with Engravity MIP straight away as designed.

    It seems that Sim Avionics software more or less is designed for FDS.
    I think All avionics suites require FSUIPC to function...

    Engravity, FDS, OC etc MIPs are just panels, switches and leds....they cant do anything without an Interface.
    FDS has their own SYS boards(Tekworx) to interface any hardware, which drives the leds and switches.
    The SYS boards will work with any FSUIPC based avionics...Sim-A, Project Magenta, Pro Sim etc...

    Sim-A is definitely not made for "FDS only", Im using FDS SYS cards, Phidgets AND OC cards in my Sim...easily and happily.

    Nat

    www.natvis.com.au

  7. Thanks Willow thanked for this post
  8. #7
    25+ Posting Member Willow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hobart, Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    31
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sim Avionics verses Pro Sim 737 software - advice please

    Thanks for your informed reply Nat

  9. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sim Avionics verses Pro Sim 737 software - advice please

    Quote Originally Posted by Melnato View Post
    I think All avionics suites require FSUIPC to function...

    Engravity, FDS, OC etc MIPs are just panels, switches and leds....they cant do anything without an Interface.
    Hi Nat,

    How have you been ? long time since we talked.

    small correction to this. Our pro setups and some of our desktop setups and also our Plug and Play overhead and pedestal modules come with our ICS interface system build in the panels (all co developments with cpflight).
    Our ICS interface communicates DIRECTLY with Project Magenta, Prosim737 and Flightdecksoftware without the use of FSUIPC offsets !

    ICS is natively supported by these suites and eliminates the need to configure, program or setup FSUIPC offsets. So its truly plugging in the usb, installing the driver and not having to think of anything else.

    Sim-A is definitely not made for "FDS only", Im using FDS SYS cards, Phidgets AND OC cards in my Sim...easily and happily.

    Nat
    I second that, Sim-avionics will work with every fsuipc capable interface.
    Additional to that it also directly communicates with the cpflight gear and cpflight/engravity MIP. It also works with our CDU, goflight, vrinsight, etc, so sim-a is not FDS only.

    Stef

  10. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sim Avionics verses Pro Sim 737 software - advice please

    Hi

    I agree with Nat/Stef and use all opencockpits h/w with Sim-Avionics.
    The reason I suggested downloading and trying the avionics packages is to compare:

    Graphic appearance, completeness of functions
    Ease of setup, particularly networking
    Speed of operation and update frame rates
    Speed of response
    Facilities eg ground and weather radar
    Scenario saving
    Extent and completeness of manuals etc

    All the above can be done without the hardware, by using their software panels. There can be significant variance between avionics packages and within different users perceptions/actual performance. There was a recent example on the SA forum when the latest update had changed some of the internal architecture. The change, although great in principle, caused "stutters" on machines that were less than par in cpu speed. The original architecture was reinstated!

    Forums are a valuable source of info, however, the threads need to be read in their entirety as "problems" are sometimes "self inflicted"

    David

  11. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie Melnato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    206
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sim Avionics verses Pro Sim 737 software - advice please

    Hey Stef...Im good thanks mate! Ti Kanis? Kala?

    Well you learn something everyday. Thanks for clearing up the ICS architecture, you really spoil your customers!...Now add Sim-A to that native list

    Can I just add, if anyone is scared of interfacing the popular avionics themselves, it really is easy to do...
    I converted my NG sim from PM to Sim-A in a day using the inbuilt (PM, Sim-A, AST, FD Software are also included) variables on the FDS SYS cards...without having to know or understand a single offset(even though I love tinkering).
    Plus its a good way to get to know and understand every switch and annunciator in your cockpit

    Nat

    www.natvis.com.au