Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Real Gauge mod's

    Hello All,

    Have replied to a couple of threads here and there but new to the site. I am building a Boeing classic 747 simpit(or at least trying to).What I am looking for is REALITY.

    In another term i do not want to use computer screens for gauges unless the lack of technology forces me to.

    Is there anyone out there that can point me in the direction of someone that can modify real analog gauges to work through FSX or FS9?

    What i desire is the Leo Bodnar product as per his posted vid for Mach7's engine gauge cluster but cannot find it offered on his webpage.

    I do not want to send PM as I do not if it is appropriate without permission (?).

    -Al

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job Ronson2k9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    London, ON Canada
    Posts
    528
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Real Gauge mod's

    We are here to help each other so it's not only allowed it's a good idea. If you're wanting to convert real gauges for use with the flight sim I would suggest you get a copy of Mikes book. Building Simulated Aircraft Instruments. It has everything you need to know on how to take real instruments and make them work in the flight sim.

    But remember as the saying goes 'time is money' so the faster you want it the more it will cost. If you want to you can buy the gauges already for your sim but the cost is well expensive. Given you want to build a 747 classic (analog) then you are looking at a lot of gauges. If you can find the gauges and make the conversion yourself then it's a ton cheaper. Not free mind you but cheaper. I would get the book and take a look for gauges online Ebay and other sources.
    Up Up and away in my beautiful my beautiful - Amphibian

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Real Gauge mod's

    Thank you Ronson2K9. That information is helpful...but I think what I would like to do is modify already existing gauges, such as what Leo Bodnar is doing for the Mach7 project. I think Mikes book is more for constructing the gauges from scratch. Also doubt if i would have the personal talent do modify such a piece of hardware .

    I will keep sending out emails and request, and see what comes back.

    I have sent a private message to Mach7 but have not heard anything back as of yet.

    Thanks again

    -Al

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Real Gauge mod's

    Hello Newbie.I did get your message, but there is not much I can tell you with respect to your question(s). As you know, Leo is doing the modifications for me, so I do not have information on what or how to go about the modification process. All I can tell you is that they are real engine gauges that runs from a control board through a CANbus network. One side of the control box connects to the computer through a USB device, the other side has the Cat5e cables which are daisy chained to the engine instruments. The control box is also connected to a 24 volt power supply for engine gauge operation. (Leo's video clip basically says it all). The engine gauges, to my knowledge, are not yet complete, but I am confident that when things are not so busy, they will be completed, installed and run up to full power. I don't think Leo would mind if you sent him a PM. however I think he is quite busy, so you might not get a fast reply.

    Thats all I can tell you for now...good luck with your simpit!

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Real Gauge mod's

    Thanks for the information Mach 7.

    Al

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member douwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Heemstede (NL)
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Real Gauge mod's

    Hi Newbie0,
    There is a diy picture tutorial on this site:
    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/down...p?do=cat&id=27
    Regards,
    Douwe

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Real Gauge mod's

    Thanks dowue.

    I think I am going to try and aquire the gauges, and have them modified or done by myself. Really like the clean setup that Leo Bodnar has come up with for the Mach solutions.

    Hopefully Mr. Bodnar will offer this product in kit form (?)

    Al

  8. Likes Hyperlinex liked this post