Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie AVIATor-Olav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    178
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Norwegian 727 project

    Hi.

    I'm planning to build a 727 sim and I thought I'd get the ball rolling by making a MIP. I've tried to get an original panel, but they're getting hard to come by it seems like. I'm planning to draw the panels using CAD, and then have them water cut in sheet aluminum once the drawings are done. My problem now is making the drawings as I have no refrence dimensions. Does anybody have any measurements? Drawings, or pictures with some dimensions would be very much appreciated.


    Best regards
    Tor

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie AVIATor-Olav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    178
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 727 MIP dimensions

    Ok, I've been able to model up a MIP in Inventor based on photos and bits of info I've found on the internet. It soon dawned on me that there is no such thing as "the 727 panel" as they're all different pretty much. Here's my rendition of it anyways.



    These views show a bit more details like bezels etc.




    The panel is now 1524mm wide, which I think is pretty accurate, but I'm unsure of the height of the various panel sections. The diameters of the guages are also just guesstimates, so if anyone can shed some insight to this it would be very much appreciated

    Thanks.

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    16
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 727 MIP dimensions

    I have some, but I have to dig very deep in my documentation (it's all on paper).
    So, I can help you, but you have to have a little patience.

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict nax228's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oslo
    Posts
    331
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 727 MIP dimensions

    Hei Tor-Olav
    Take a look at www.oncealoft.com on the simparts page.
    You can buy the whole MIP and OH if you want.

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie AVIATor-Olav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    178
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 727 MIP dimensions

    Hi nax228. I know that, the only trouble is I don't have $3000 to blow on a complete instrument panel. I wont need all the guages either, as I will use LCD's for my guages. Too much work interfacing all those analouge instruments. Would be sweet though. I'm thinking of getting an OH from them btw, but I'll try to make my own MIP. I've currently got the TQ on the drawing board, any dimensions for that would be appreciated as well.

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie AVIATor-Olav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    178
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 727 MIP dimensions

    Quote Originally Posted by 1995Dada View Post
    I have some, but I have to dig very deep in my documentation (it's all on paper).
    So, I can help you, but you have to have a little patience.
    Hi 1995Dada.

    Any input would be very much appreciated!


    Thanks
    Tor

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    16
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing Re: 727 MIP dimensions

    Quote Originally Posted by AVIATor-Olav View Post
    Hi 1995Dada.

    Any input would be very much appreciated!


    Thanks
    Tor
    Hallo Tor,
    I had not seen you made a new reply, while I was answering your first message
    Today I found the boxes I think the plans are stored in.
    Tonight I will open up the first and look if there is something valueble for you inside.
    Like the 727 and will follow this thread for sure!
    Can't wait till you are going to build something!

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie AVIATor-Olav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    178
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 727 MIP dimensions

    Quote Originally Posted by 1995Dada View Post
    Hallo Tor,
    I had not seen you made a new reply, while I was answering your first message
    Today I found the boxes I think the plans are stored in.
    Tonight I will open up the first and look if there is something valueble for you inside.
    Like the 727 and will follow this thread for sure!
    Can't wait till you are going to build something!
    I wouldn't hold my breath! lol. This build is going to take a while!

    Had a bit more progress on my TQ model this evening.



    I'm planning to build in my Saitek TQ for the throttles. Spoilers and flaps will have their own pots. Not sure what to do with the reversers!
    Hopefully I'll think of something!


  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie AVIATor-Olav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    178
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 727 MIP dimensions

    A bit more progress on the TQ model









    I'm just about ready to start cutting parts.
    I really need some input on guage diameters for the MIP though.

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    511
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 727 MIP dimensions

    Email Joe at http://project727.xsn.net/ he is one of a few who have an ongoing project. Which sim version you using...FS9 or FSX? Which add-on? Suggest CaptainSim B727 add-on... Are you doing -100, -200, or cargo? You can make your own gauges to be shown on the lcd monitors using FS Panel Studio.

    BSD

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast