Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: External view

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Hanoi, Vietnam
    Posts
    38
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    External view

    Hi,

    I am thinking on changing my external view to something better but would like to have some advice before hand, my actual cockpit you can see in the attached photo
    DSC_0011.JPG

    The option I am thinking are:
    2 monitor (but will I loss frame rate)
    1 bigger TV
    1 project

    Any ideas

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: External view

    You've got a very nice setup.

    If it was up to me, I would stick with the monitor you have and get two more, to get wide view. The sensation of flying would be tremendous compared to your current setup.

    Just my opinion

    Matt Olieman

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Hanoi, Vietnam
    Posts
    38
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: External view

    Hi,

    Thanks, I also forgot to say that place is limited as I am in the living room, 3 big LCD TV will not be accepted by my wife !! I have to stay resonable.

    I have some question:
    About the 3 display option, will I also have to have a special graphic card if I go this way and will I loss in frame rate (my actual graphic card is a Radeon HD 5xxx series, a good card).

    About a projector, what about using it with light on in the room is it ok, what model should I be looking at, does it make noise, were is the optimium position. and basically is it a good solution.

    About a bigger TV, ok this would be the easiest solution but I am not sure it will really make a difference, what do you think, today my TV is 32", I am thinking of one 42 or 50" TV.

    Thanks,

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: External view

    My set up is very much like yours. I rejected the projector idea( and I already have one) because it will certainly add to the clutter plus the fact that a HD TV gives a much better image quality in all lighting situations.
    At the moment I am considering building in around the TV and the top of the MIP with 3mm MDF to produce a sort of enclosure. Don't know how that would work but it may produce a better "cockpit feel" when one cannot see the surrounding walls.
    Bill
    Bill
    P3D/ IFly737 Pro

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: External view

    Nice setup.

    To use a projector it requires a dark room for best picture quality. If you want a few extra screens, you can choose to run WideView over several computers in network, or one powerful computer with multiple graphics cards. I use WideView and eight computers, and the biggest problem is that the clouds are not synchronized, since each computer generate its own weather. In return the eight computers divide the 180-degree view, and it does not require so much CPU power, as if it is just one computer that must generate the entire 180-degree vision



    My computers are scrap single core computers i got for free, and it runs only on onbord graphics cards, of course there is no super graphics on the screens, I have a little stutter, but this comes from my master computer and not from the eight slaves.



    It gives a lot more flight experience with multiple monitors.
    My dream setup would be with 3 projectors, this setup is not "wife friendly".
    I have chosen an other solutions with other benefits, such as a mobile simulator.
    Sincerely,

    Claus


  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: External view

    Hi Claus,

    Sorry to interupt here but I am curious as to why your setup does not give you synchronized clouds. My setup using Wideview with fsx allows for synchronized clouds.

    Kind Regards

    Bernie.
    E8400 @ 3.0GHz, DDR2 Ram 800MHz 4Gb, Vista Home Premium 64Bit, MSI 9800GT @ 512Mb, Philips 22" LCD Widescreen, Cockpit Setup X 5 using Wideview and Widetraffic.

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: External view

    Latest projectors models have nothing to do with the projectors we know from the past. Have a look at Ultimate Short Throw Projectors , You can have as much as 80 inch of external view from 30 cms throw distance !!! As far as room lighting and quality, please feel free to watch the following video. These are things that people shouldn't worry with new projectors models.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9X-hWlLhAH0

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: External view

    Quote Originally Posted by Bernie View Post
    Hi Claus,

    Sorry to interupt here but I am curious as to why your setup does not give you synchronized clouds. My setup using Wideview with fsx allows for synchronized clouds.

    Kind Regards

    Bernie.
    Hi Bernie

    I run FS9.
    I can have clouds on one screen an not on the others.
    Each computer on my network are running their own FS9 and generate its own clouds.
    I have no knowledge of a setup where the clouds are controlled equally.
    You can synchronize the weather, so it's the same kind of weather on all computers.
    Sincerely,

    Claus


  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: External view

    Quote Originally Posted by verticallimit View Post
    Hi Bernie

    I run FS9.
    I can have clouds on one screen an not on the others.
    Each computer on my network are running their own FS9 and generate its own clouds.
    I have no knowledge of a setup where the clouds are controlled equally.
    You can synchronize the weather, so it's the same kind of weather on all computers.
    Hi Claus,

    Yes, in FSX the weather is fully synchronized over all computers. You set the weather on the Server either by weather theme within the Wideview weather Module, or via real weather downloaded from the net to the Server which is then distributed throughout each client giving perfect cloud allignment through the total view. On page 35 of the Wideview manual for your 2004 setup, it talks about weather synchronizing for FS2004. I think you will find that the FSX version of Wideview is much better for weather. If you have the manual (PDF) then it starts on page 35 for FS2004. The FSX manual is totally different. You could download it anyway and have a read about FSX weather synchronization.

    Kind Regards

    Bernie.
    E8400 @ 3.0GHz, DDR2 Ram 800MHz 4Gb, Vista Home Premium 64Bit, MSI 9800GT @ 512Mb, Philips 22" LCD Widescreen, Cockpit Setup X 5 using Wideview and Widetraffic.

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: External view

    Hi Bernie
    I have the manual, and I've also read part of it, but have not yet come to setup the weather sync., only quickly looked through this part.
    Sincerely,

    Claus


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast