Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Glass or Analog ?

    During the down time from working on the fuselage restoration for my 172 I am starting to plan and price out instrument panel options. I would really prefer to stay with analog gauges as that is what I started learning on in the real world and hope to return to at some point.

    Whether I fabricate, convert, or purchase ready made instruments though the cost is really adding up. When I compare this to fabricating a glass cockpit though the glass options is considerably more affordable, even with fully working switches and rotary encoders.

    So, while I still have plenty of time to plan that phase of the build I'm feeling a bit caught between a rock and a hard place. I thought I'd post this and see what others have done.

    Thanks in advance for any thoughts, feedback, and/or advice!

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Glass or Analog ?

    I know exactly how you feel about this. Looking at several thousands of dollars to purchase instruments vs. the hours required to build them is really intimidating. An intermediate step for you would be to build a steam gauge plane with projected instruments.

    Might look at this thread:http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/show...ight=steve1970
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Glass or Analog ?

    That could save me a fair amount up front and still get me flying while I save money for actual instruments. I suspect it's a bit more involved than a glass build as the dials would need to be mounted in a tight space just above the surface of the monitor. The other challenge will be clearing the yoke shaft as this is going into an actual 172 instrument panel frame. Gee I wonder if I can cut a hole in an LCD monitor

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Glass or Analog ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom_G_2010 View Post
    Gee I wonder if I can cut a hole in an LCD monitor
    Better ask AlexJay. I think he was a pioneer in this "method"
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Glass or Analog ?

    I had exactly the same decision to make and after much planning and head scratching I went the analogue route.
    It quickly became obvious that I could not get all the gauges on flat screen monitors if I wanted to achieve the dimensions and layout of a 'real' Cessna 172. The particular problem was the old chesnut of the position of the control yoke. In the end, I decided to group the eight main gauges on a small 16 inch monitor and use Simkits for the remainder. This at least reduced the initial cost considerably and enabled me to keep the layout fairly authentic.

    The attached photograph shows work in progress.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Glass or Analog ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Meridian View Post
    I had exactly the same decision to make and after much planning and head scratching I went the analogue route.
    It quickly became obvious that I could not get all the gauges on flat screen monitors if I wanted to achieve the dimensions and layout of a 'real' Cessna 172. The particular problem was the old chesnut of the position of the control yoke. In the end, I decided to group the eight main gauges on a small 16 inch monitor and use Simkits for the remainder. This at least reduced the initial cost considerably and enabled me to keep the layout fairly authentic.

    The attached photograph shows work in progress.
    Finding a monitor or monitors to fit the space is for sure the biggest challenge to this given the space I need to fit it in. I like the way your build came out!


  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie Cessna172sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ylöjärvi, Finland
    Posts
    171
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Glass or Analog ?

    Hi,
    We've been exactly in the same situation couple of years ago with our C172 project:
    http://www.lentosimulaattori.1g.fi/k...t+panel/33.jpg

    http://www.lentosimulaattori.com/index-eng.html

    Like already said below, the main problem with the real C172 instrument panel is that the yoke shaft goes through the panel and there's no this kind of LCD in the market.

    We have been using Simkits gauges and also have had the typical problems with them like calibration issues etc. I would definitely go for double LCD style panels now if I would start new project. More flying and much less problems.

    Also Meridians solution is a great way to do it. Only few Simkits or similar analague servo gauges and the rest of the 'sixpack' with LCD. There are already flat enough pulse encoders to control the gauges. Check out for example this Finnish project:
    http://mik.1g.fi/kuvat/Kerhon%20kalu..._4209.jpg/full

    Feel free to ask more: robots@jippii.fi

  8. Thanks Tom_G_2010 thanked for this post
  9. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Glass or Analog ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Vectro View Post
    Hi,
    We've been exactly in the same situation couple of years ago with our C172 project:
    http://www.lentosimulaattori.1g.fi/k...t+panel/33.jpg

    http://www.lentosimulaattori.com/index-eng.html

    Like already said below, the main problem with the real C172 instrument panel is that the yoke shaft goes through the panel and there's no this kind of LCD in the market.

    We have been using Simkits gauges and also have had the typical problems with them like calibration issues etc. I would definitely go for double LCD style panels now if I would start new project. More flying and much less problems.

    Also Meridians solution is a great way to do it. Only few Simkits or similar analague servo gauges and the rest of the 'sixpack' with LCD. There are already flat enough pulse encoders to control the gauges. Check out for example this Finnish project:
    http://mik.1g.fi/kuvat/Kerhon%20kalu..._4209.jpg/full

    Feel free to ask more: robots@jippii.fi
    I can only hope my project comes out near as good as yours. I have been looking over your site and picks and am very impressed. I'm sure I'll have many more questions as I work through this.

    Is there any chance you have some behind the panel build pic's showing how you fit up the monitor(s)? Based on my measurements those would need to be fairly small and odd sized.

    THANKS!

  10. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie Cessna172sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ylöjärvi, Finland
    Posts
    171
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Glass or Analog ?

    We only use LCD displays in avionics. All other gauges are from Simkits
    (old CCU II model).

    The LCD sim panel is from Malmi Aviation Club Baron Twin simulator. They are using floor mounted stick instead of Cessna style yoke so the LCD using is not a problem for them.

    From here you can find more pictures of their OH-TWN sim:
    http://mik.1g.fi/kuvat/Kerhon%20kalusto/OH-TWN/

    video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=it6QeYG4cAg

    And from here is their excellent C172 sim: (biggest inspiration for our own C172 project)
    http://mik.1g.fi/kuvat/Kerhon%20kalusto/OH-SIM/

    video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lBDfPShHo-8

    For Cessna sim they were very lucky to have three old McDonell Douglas DC-10 simulator collimated mirrors.