Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: B747-400

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    B747-400

    Has anyone tried making their own ignition start switches for a B747-400. I'm presently working on my overhead panel. I made my Korry switches out of 1" ID square acrylic tubing, 1" sq. rod and tactile switches. On the B744 when you pull the start switch out, if the start sequence initiates, the switch lights up and when the engine starts the switch pulls back in and the light goes off. Finding a switch that operates this way would be very expensive if even possible. I thought about making my own using some type of coil to pull the switch back in. Has anyone else ever tried this?

    COCKPIT SYSTEM SPECS
    Home Cockpit based on B747-400
    UBEE CABLE Modem/Router
    Linksys 5 Port Switch
    Altec Lansing VS5237 5.1 Surround Sound
    PROJECT MAGENTA BOEING SOFTWARE
    IOCARDS AND SIOC
    SYSTEM 1
    (COCKPIT-1)
    EVGA P55 FTW 1156 ATX Motherboard
    Intel i7 875K @ 2.93 Ghz
    COOLER MASTER HYPER 212+ CPU COOLER
    Corsair 4GB DDR3-2000 PC-16000
    Evga GTX 285 DDR3
    Evga 8800 GT 512MB DDR3
    Seagate 500GB SATA II
    Seagate 1.5TB SATA II
    SoundBlaster Audigy2
    Cooler Master 1200w PS
    Matrox TripleHeadToGo
    (3) Samsung 46” HDTVs-Front surround view
    ViewSonic 22” LCD-Left view
    Aesus 23” LCD-Right view
    Windows 7 64-bit

    SYSTEM 2
    (COCKPIT-2)
    NForce 750i LT SLI Motherboard
    Core 2 DUO E8400 @ 3.0 Ghz
    Corsair 4GB 800MHz DDR2
    Evga GT 295 DDR3
    Evga 8800 GT 512MB DDR3
    Seagate 500GB SATA II
    Cooler Master 750w PS
    AOC 24” LCD-Captains PFD/ND
    ACER 23.5” LCD-Overhead & MCP
    Chemei 19” LCD-Primary ECIAS
    Chemei 15.5” LCD-Secondary ECIAS/CDU
    Windows 7 32-bit

    SYSTEM 3
    (COCKPIT-3)
    Intel D865PERL Motherboard
    Intel Pentium 4 3.0 Ghz cpu
    Corsair 4GB 800MHz DDR
    Geforce4 512MB Graphics card
    ASA 19”
    Chemei 19” LCD-FO OFD/ND
    Seagate 500GB SATA II
    300w PS
    Windows XP
    IOCARDS

    (2) USB EXPANSION CARD
    (7) MASTER CARDS
    (5) 7 SEG DISPLAY CARDS
    (15) 5 DISPLAY HOLDERS
    (4) 3 DISPLAY HOLDERS
    (1) USB RELAYS CARD
    (1) USB KEYBOARD EMULATOR CARD
    (2) USB AXIS CARD

    http://s1233.photobucket.com/albums/...HEADPANELS.jpg

    http://s1233.photobucket.com/albums/...EADPANELS2.jpg

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Reinbek
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: B747-400

    hi there,

    I realize that this matter is already abt. 3 years old, but still interesting. May I ask you 2 questions

    which model(s) your are using for the planes, PMDG or Posky or?

    any aircraft configs for pm other than the file from their homepage (issued 2001) ?

    thanks in advance for kind attention and reply

    regards
    Claus-Jürgen Körner

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: B747-400

    I'm using the freeware Ifly B747-400 and PMs B747-400 config file from their homepage.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Reinbek
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: B747-400

    hello,

    thanks for prompt reply

    will give it a try.

    regards
    CJK

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Reinbek
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: B747-400

    Quote Originally Posted by 150245 View Post
    hello,

    thanks for prompt reply

    will give it a try.

    regards
    CJK

    hello again,

    I tried the ifly B 747. I am not very happy with the model although it is better than the default. Flight performance is quit ok.
    Do you operate the plane with Magentas pmsystems? or did you manage to get the overhead and throttle windows working. In this case
    I like to receive the panel cfg.
    When I tried to keep overhead and and throttle panel. in the overhead the switchbuttons are not working and the throttles were not 'moving'.

    regards
    CJK

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: B747-400

    Quote Originally Posted by 150245 View Post
    hello again,

    Do you operate the plane with Magentas pmsystems? or did you manage to get the overhead and throttle windows working.

    CJK
    I'm using pmSystems, Glass Cockpit and MCP. I built my own MCP. Flight Displays and overhead panel, pedestal, throttle quadrant,linked yokes etc so I don't need a virtual cockpit. I'm still using the pmSystems overhead graphic because I haven't gotten all of my overhead panel working yet. I have the PMDG 747 and the flight model is much better but I'm not ready to tackle trying to interface it with Project Magenta and SIOC yet.

    Jerry


    Taking off DFW rwy 17C.jpg

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Reinbek
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: B747-400

    good morning to you,

    nice cockpit.

    I am using in FS9 the PMDG 747 so far with own build MCP and Throttle quadrant. Overhead is placed on 19zoll TFT. PFD, ND and Thrust is placed on 22zoll TFT. FMC and lower Eicas shown on a 15zoll TFT and Scenery shown on a 24zoll TFT. Buttons etc working via the PMDG keyboar dcommands with registered FSUIPC, except the overhead for wich I am using the mouse.

    PMDG software is not at all cooperative and not compatible with PM. Provided you are flying in FS2004 and you ike the B 747-8i there is a model from skyspirit (freeware) this baby is working with the airfile from PMDG and PM inputs via FSUIPC/PM offsets.
    All done with only one PC

    SIOC is not my Baby but a friend of mine is just preparing a full B 777 cockpit with PM and he is familar with programming incl 'SIOC`but for the FSX
    and working on 2 PC's.

    I have not yet made up my mind whether to stick PMDG or to jump on the PM because of the frames and some more flexibility.

    regards
    CJK

    attached 2 pics from my cockpit
    Attached Images Attached Images