Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    50
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    cutting handles with 3 axis CNC?

    Hi
    I'm looking at getting the fireball v90.

    And I really want to try and see if its possible to make a throttle handle? not the whole lever just the concave handle.

    is this at all possible with the right software?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cutting handles with 3 axis CNC?

    Hi pvjen1,
    VCarvePro would easily allow this type of cylindrical machining with a 4 axis machine but it is a lot easier to make them in a lathe. I can turn a B737 throttle handle in about 10 minutes and the finish is far superior to what the CNC router would produce! Engraving the text on the curved surface is a difficult proposition, I haven't tackled this one yet!

    Cheers,
    Gwyn (Westozy)
    Aerosim Solutions

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    50
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cutting handles with 3 axis CNC?

    Hi Qwyn,

    I have heard that lathe machines are a good practice to conquer the 737 throttle handles, any idea what it would cost to get a low cost one with the right setup to make one? And are these computer driven software operations or manual operation?

    The other thing I might ask while I'm at it is can a 3 axis Fireball v90 setup create bezel frames like we see in the mips or is a 4 axis the really only way to go?

    Cheers

    Quote Originally Posted by Westozy View Post
    Hi pvjen1,
    VCarvePro would easily allow this type of cylindrical machining with a 4 axis machine but it is a lot easier to make them in a lathe. I can turn a B737 throttle handle in about 10 minutes and the finish is far superior to what the CNC router would produce! Engraving the text on the curved surface is a difficult proposition, I haven't tackled this one yet!

    Cheers,
    Gwyn (Westozy)
    Aerosim Solutions

  4. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cutting handles with 3 axis CNC?

    Hi again,
    You can buy a pretty decent hobby lathe capable of machining handles for around $500, that was what my first lathe cost, look for a second hand one, many people buy them and the novelty wears off so they are rarely worn out! They are manual and quite easy to operate.
    It is easy to make MIP bezels with the chamfers on a three axis machine, I have made plenty of them. There is basically an inside cut around the square, then a 90 degree V cutter goes around 3 sides of the square to make the chamfer and a final cut to cut it out. (B737 type).

    Cheers Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    50
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cutting handles with 3 axis CNC?

    Hi Gwyn
    thanks again for all the advice I'll see what i can do when the piggy bank has enough for these machines

    hope you had a good easter

    cheers

    Quote Originally Posted by Westozy View Post
    Hi again,
    You can buy a pretty decent hobby lathe capable of machining handles for around $500, that was what my first lathe cost, look for a second hand one, many people buy them and the novelty wears off so they are rarely worn out! They are manual and quite easy to operate.
    It is easy to make MIP bezels with the chamfers on a three axis machine, I have made plenty of them. There is basically an inside cut around the square, then a 90 degree V cutter goes around 3 sides of the square to make the chamfer and a final cut to cut it out. (B737 type).

    Cheers Gwyn

  6. #6
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cutting handles with 3 axis CNC?

    Where in Oz are you? I'm in Perth...

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    50
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cutting handles with 3 axis CNC?

    Quote Originally Posted by Westozy View Post
    Where in Oz are you? I'm in Perth...

    Gwyn
    Melbourne. Was at the air show this year as well, jaw dropped to see all the classics flying. Especially the DC-3s.

  8. #8
    Have CNC-----will build.
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Leesburg, Florida
    Posts
    203
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: cutting handles with 3 axis CNC?

    Thought I would add my 2 cents worth. I cut a piece of dowel of the size needed and run a drill through the middle of it and insert a bolt through the hole and secure it, so I can mount it in my drill press. I then take a cylinder of the size needed to make the cancave section, and glue a piece of sandpaper to the cylinder. Turn on the drill press and hold the sandpaper covered cylinder up to it and it makes a perfect concave on the dowel. A lot cheaper than getting a lathe. I then use decal paper on the finished handle to label it.

    Milt