Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Only one dual rotary encoder for COM/NAV radio. Is it possible?

    Hello!
    I'd like to build a simple switch panel for my FSX.
    I have a BU0836x Leo Bodnar's card.
    My idea is to use only one dual encoder to drive COM1, COM2, NAV1 and NAV2 with four pushbuttons switches to select the radio mode. And then one more button to swap it.
    I think there's no problem with the FSUIPC code of the switches but i don't know what is the correct code for the dual encoder pins.

    How I can do it?


    Thanks!

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Only one dual rotary encoder for COM/NAV radio. Is it possible?

    After several weeks, I answer myself: Yes, it's possible!
    Using the programing of compound buttons in FSUIPC.ini and a rotary switch. If the rotary switch is in COM1 position, then the dual rotary encoder changes COM1 freqs. If rotary switch is in NAV1 pos, then the rotary encoder changes the NAV1 freq, ...

    Now my first problem is with the slow, sloooooow speed of rotary encoder.

    Best regards!

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Only one dual rotary encoder for COM/NAV radio. Is it possible?

    If you find a solution please post it here. Apparently it either needs a software or hardware solution if you want speed, and fine accuracy for Leo's card with encoders.
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Only one dual rotary encoder for COM/NAV radio. Is it possible?

    Leo needs to get better software support for encoders as that is where it all lies.

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie Roland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    195
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Only one dual rotary encoder for COM/NAV radio. Is it possible?

    Hi

    I made similar solution as your suggestion in beginning post. I did not use Leo's card, but the MJOY-16 self-build card from info on the web.
    The MJOY-16 has the slow and fast turning rotary assigned to different key stroke. With one dual rotary you can thus access fraction, 1, 10, 100 increase/decrease, which tunes relatively well. More info on:

    http://www.simprojects.nl/interface_with_mjoy-16.htm
    http://www.simprojects.nl/fsuipc_com...rogramming.htm
    RR

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    156
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Only one dual rotary encoder for COM/NAV radio. Is it possible?

    I have a different issue to yours involving ADF and VOR type gauges but got a reply on another website after I mentioned about the encoder speed issue
    Here is the reply I got.







    I use FSUIPC for the majority of my pit programming, In my opinion it is a program every pit builder should use. It actually recognises a slow and fast spin. So each endoder can have four different settings, for instance:

    Vor 1 increase
    Vor 1 Decrease
    Vor 1 Increase Fast
    Vor 1 Decrease Fast

    I use these Commands on generic encoders wired through a Desktop Aviator Super Encoder board and also have Goflight modules programmed through FSUIPC instead of the Goflight config software. So I imagine you could use FSUIPC with Leo's board also. Fsuipc recognises any button push from any controller and then you can tag it with a comand.
    If you try It, I would love to know if it makes any difference

    Rhys

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Only one dual rotary encoder for COM/NAV radio. Is it possible?

    Rhys,
    Can you pm me with where you found this? I would live to ask follow up questions. I have fsuipc and will gladly try it and report. Just need more info about how they set up an encoder to be "dual speed".
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    156
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Post Re: Only one dual rotary encoder for COM/NAV radio. Is it possible?

    The topic is over at hovercontrol. I will ask for more info on seting up dual speed

    Rhys

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Only one dual rotary encoder for COM/NAV radio. Is it possible?

    Thanks! It will solve many headaches for me if this works! Specifically how is fsuipc set up.

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Only one dual rotary encoder for COM/NAV radio. Is it possible?

    With Leo Bodnar's card I don't know if dual speed is possible.

    Waiting for...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast