Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I need help with this potentiometer

    hi guys........
    well i'm in the s**t here.... my captain's yoke has started to act up and i've traced the fault to a 'dodgy' potentiometer. ok, i hear you say, just change it
    ah! here lies the problem. my yoke was custom made as a prototype from an idea i had and as such the pot has to fit inside the holder. that means it has to be the exact same pot that
    i have now. all i can see on the pot is 10k which is it's value, but no manufacturer's name.
    would be really pleased if somebody could identify make and model for me so i can go looking for a replacement.
    thanks in advance chaps......

    ian
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need help with this potentiometer

    Ian,

    Which dimensions are the most critical - diameter of the housing, shaft, length of shaft etc....
    I would expect either Mouser or RS to have some matching pots though
    I believe you already have been there, done that....
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    284
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need help with this potentiometer

    Hey Ian,

    I have exactly the same one and the manufacturers name is on it: PIHER. Mine is however 50k, if you can use it, I'll be happy to sent it to you.


    Regards, Wendy

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need help with this potentiometer

    Quote Originally Posted by Wendy View Post
    Hey Ian,

    I have exactly the same one and the manufacturers name is on it: PIHER. Mine is however 50k, if you can use it, I'll be happy to sent it to you.


    Regards, Wendy
    wendy, you ar a life saver

    i can use that pot thanks. pm sent with my address..... a mega thank you.
    and knowing the maker, i can go searching for the model & keep a spare in now.
    thanks again, have a great weekend and regards from wales....

    ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member Leo Bodnar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    97
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need help with this potentiometer

    Hi Ian,

    Why did it fail? Make sure you don't use the pot as a pivot or bearing support for something else. Also if you have two axes rigidly mounted put some flexible link between them like a piece of reasonably stiff plastic tubing. This will allow the axes to be slightly off centre and avoid damaging one of them.
    Or maybe use some softish washers to mount the pot?

    Cheers
    Leo

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need help with this potentiometer

    hi leo...........
    just got a dodgy track which has worn out after 4 tears of having the living cr*p beaten out of it the design of the yoke means there's no
    pressure on the pot. the shaft is held in a collar with two bearings and the pot has some tolerance to allow for the centreing. stuff wears out
    however, thanks to wendy, who put me right on the manufacturer, i have been able to track down the model no. as a T21,
    http://www.piher-nacesa.com/pdf/24-T21v03.pdf
    so i'm now off to do a search of Farnell and RS very happy chappie
    have a great weekend chaps..........

    ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member Leo Bodnar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    97
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need help with this potentiometer

    Hi Ian,

    LOL, this pot has a lifespan of only 25,000 movements. You were begging for it!

    Do yourself a favour and put something with 1M+ lifespan. Vishay or Bourns industrial pots are good, I also sell inexpensive P260 pots.

    You can just extend the shaft with epoxied brass tube if you need a long shaft (i.e cut off the old shaft and use as an extension with metal tube epoxied over them.) It's worth doing it now.

    Cheers
    Leo

  8. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    SLC
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need help with this potentiometer

    Can someone point me in the right direction to build a throttle quandrant? Trying to figure out where the pot meter would pivot best, also how to get some friction for reality when moving the handles.

  9. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need help with this potentiometer

    Wow, talk about a 7500!! Might want to start a new thread pcride. You'll have a better chance for a response.

    Cheers